3 Year Old Big Island Toddler Dies While in Foster Care - Mother now fighting to regain custody of her other 2 children!

Parents demand answers after their 3-year-old boy, Fabian Garett-Garcia, died on July 25, 2017 while in foster care in Oceanview , Hawaii. Hawaii County police continue to investigate Fabian's death.

Police and the Hawaii Fire Department responded a call to an unresponsive child at 7:18 p.m on July 25. The child was later identified as Fabian Garett-Garcia. Medic personnel transported Fabien to North Hawaii Community Hospital, where he was pronounced dead. The pathologist determined that Fabien died of blunt force trauma to the head. Hospital records show the child was covered with bruises when he arrived at the hospital. The manner of death is still undetermined. Detectives continue to investigate this death. This case remains classified as a coroner’s inquest. A gag order was issued on the case days later by the state’s Child Welfare Services Branch. A judge lifted parts of a gag order in August of 2017. The family is now allowed to talk about the case.

If anyone has information regarding this case, please send an email to detective Carrie Akina or call her at 326-4646 extension 277. Family members of Fabian Garett-Garcia are asking the public for help. They are hoping that someone out there has information on Fabien's last days.

“Because he was in foster care, Juben Garcia says Child Welfare Services, a branch under the Department of Human Services, brought them the devastating news. “They said there’s no easy way to say this, and then my girlfriend asked, ‘Is Fabian alive?’ and she said no, and that was it,” said Juben Garcia. “They said that he was wearing some virtual reality goggles, and then he was at the table and then he fell from like three or four feet,” Juben Garcia said. “Something startled him and then he fell face first without without putting his hands in front of him

Fabien and his two other siblings were removed from their home in August 2016. The family home was deemed unacceptable due to the fathers drug use. The mother who is separated from the children's father is still fighting for custody of her other two children. She is in desperate need of financial assistance.

Here is what Fabien's mother had to say in her GoFundMe request for assistance created on December 27, 2016. At that time she was living in a Domestic Violence Shelter and trying to get back on her feet. "My name is Sherri. I am a recently single mother. I have 3 beautiful children, a 2 1/2 year old, a 1 1/2 year old and a 4 month old. My children are currently in foster care and I am fighting to get them back. My children were always happy and healthy which in turn made me happy. Today pics reveal their feelings and it breaks my heart! They are my everything! I have endured many hardships with and without them. I am a strong minded and strong willed woman. I am currently living in a Domestic Violence Shelter and trying to get back on my feet. The bus system here is unreliable and hitchhiking is not necessarily safe encounters with people offering me meth and unsafe drivers. Walking is definitely the option I choose if the bus isn't on time however it's time consuming and doesn't allow me to accomplish much or get a job. I NEED a job for financial stability. I have so much to comply with from the CWS Court Case which I am doing but I need a job as well and without a car its not likely to happen. I am asking for your assistance in regaining and sustaining my independence. I have to race against the clock so my babies don't get adopted out... If you can donate any amount towards my goal of obtaining a reliable legal family vehicle, I appreciate your assistance. Your donation will help buy my family a vehicle but with this vehicle you will also have helped me further comply with CWS Court Orders, Get a Job, financial stability and Obtain Returned Physical Custody of my Babies and reunite my family.... It's been a difficult struggle and in the present I was forced to make a choice between being a single mother or trying to hold a family together with my babies daddy and partner of 10 years who relapsed because of our struggles and is having a difficult time getting back to recovery. I am a firm believer in the Lord and that all things happen for a reason. I am however new to handing over my life to His will and His way. As hard as it is, I put my pride aside and humbly ask for your help. Every dollar counts and if you can share this link with people you know that is also a huge help. If 250 people donate $20.00 each that would help me achieve this goal.

Your donation will play a huge role in helping Sherri change her story.

GoFundMe

On 24 Mar 2018, Island supporters took to the streets in a sign waving event for called ‘JUSTICE FOR FABIAN’ in an effort to" KEEP THE LIGHTS ON THE 3-YEAR- OLD WHO DIED IN FOSTER CARE

I personally know a lot of people living in Oceanview, so I plan to ask around and see if I can find a way to contact Fabien's mother to see if there is anything I can do to assist her. If you wish to help her financially, please visit her GoFundMe Page and make a donation. If you can't help directly, please consider resteeming this post!

()

Read: Foster Kids Sentenced to Life Without Parole - Kuntrell Jackson's Story

Read - Foster Kids Sentenced to Life Without Parole - Evan Miller's Story

Read - "Life as a Foster Child - Facts and Stories"

Read "My Personal Story of Sexual Abuse in My Family.. Introduction - How Different Would My Life have Been Had We Been Turned Over to CPS??

Read "My Personal Story of Sexual Abuse in My Family - Part 1 - The Nightmares of a Child - The Knife"

Read "My Personal Story of Sexual Abuse in My Family - Part 11 - The Nightmares of a Child - Inside the Kaleidoscope"

Read - My Personal Story of Sexual Abuse in My Family - Part 111 - Under The Tree House

Read - My Personal Story of Sexual Abuse in My Family - Part IV - What Happened to the Abusers?

Read - My Personal Story of Sexual Abuse in My Family -The Conclusion

If you would like to read some of the previous stories of "My Life as a Detention Officer," You will find the links listed on this post by @canadian-coconut:

CPS and Foster Care Abuses: -- INDEX of PUBLISHED STORIES now on the Steemit Blockchain

Please take the time to read, upvote and resteem the above post to show your 100% support for this cause. Also, please visit the blogs of these authors and consider doing the same. Most of these cases are still on-going and any financial support you can give them could make a difference in whether these family units can be saved!

What Is @familyprotection? What Are The Rules? How Do I Donate?

If you are concerned about where these funds are going, please take the time to read this post:

We are Family Protection, Keeping Families Safe, Together

@markwhittam grew up in the care of CPS and then many years later he and his family had to flee their country under threats from the state to take their child because they home schooled.

Linda, @canadian-coconut, started @familyprotection because she has helped several families who have been torn apart at the hands of the legal kidnappers aka. Child Protection Services.

It is up to us as a Community to uncover the truth and spread this truth worldwide!

If you or someone you know have children that are now wards of the state and/or government, we encourage you to share your story. If you are an underage youth caught up in this insane cycle of abuse and control..Please share your story..If you have friends in abusive situations..Please have them share their story. We here at steemit.com have caring people that that are willing to help you in anyway we can.

If you wish to donate in support of this project, please do so by sending your donations in the form of Steem, Steem Power and or SBD to @familyprotection

Show your support for @familyprotection, @markwhittam, and @canadian-coconut by visiting their blogs, leaving comments revelent to this most worthy cause, upvoting and resteeming as many of these posts as you feel drawn to do.

Before-using-the-familyprotection-tag-please-read-this

If you find this post helpful, please consider UPVOTING and RESTEEMING.

Active Posts by The Three Hugs

MAHALO FOR YOUR SUPPORT!!

![](\

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency