Do Miracles Occur Today?


Do miracles occur in the 21st century? It has been a question that’s been boggling my mind a lot lately. As a Christian, and by Christian I mean true follower of Jesus, I ask myself that question every time I come across Bible incidents where Jesus does a miracle and everyone is in awe and is greatly affected. I wonder: if people see miracles today, Would they be moved? Would they surrender to Jesus?
Jesus Walks on the Water
22 Immediately Jesus made the disciples get into the boat and go on ahead of him to the other side, while he dismissed the crowd. 23 After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray.Later that night, he was there alone, 24 and the boat was already a considerable distance from land, buffeted by the waves because the wind was against it.25 Shortly before dawn Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake.26 When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified. “It’s a ghost,” they said, and cried out in fear.27 But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.”28 “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”29 “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”31 Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”32 And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down. 33 Then those who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.”

     After reading this passage where Jesus does a miracle and allows Peter to walk on water, I wondered if I could have had the courage to step out of the boat in the first place! Peter had a strong personality and showed great courage to step out of the boat in obedience to walk on water. He was the only person to ask Jesus to tell him to come on the water! Moreover, when Jesus said, “come”,  Peter did not think twice about his moves and got out of the boat and into the water, and started walking towards Jesus. “Mathew 14:28-29”

    But before I continue commenting on Peter,  (I could go on forever, especially that I feel that i’m the opposite of his character!), imagine yourself in that boat, in the stormy weather, waves so mighty that they try to sink that boat! What would you have done if you saw someone walking on water? If I were engaged in such a scene, i’m sure that I would probably have said, “that’s superman!” (Haha, I just love the Marvel movies and wish the characters were real). Moreover, if you are like the fishermen you would have said, “that’s a ghost!” What else could it have been! No man with magic powers could walk on water! They trick us into thinking they could move things with their minds and make them even float in thin air. However, none could walk on water and that’s because no human can.

   Peter was now on water when suddenly, he started drowning! He probably came to his senses and thought: “What on earth am I doing in the middle of a storm, standing on water? I should head back to the boat before the waves crush me!” Now, that is only my imagination of what could have happened back then, but to be honest I do not know what went on in his head that lead to his drowning. The story continues by saying that Peter called out to Jesus and Jesus saved him.

  I’m going to stop here for now, because again, my commentary could go on and on and on! But, I really want to state that if Jesus did miracles in the past, then He still can and does miracles today (and everyday), no? “I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord, God, “Who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty.” (Revelation 1:8). He is always there, from the beginning of time till the end of the age. He shall remain. He did not change and surely will not change in the future! The God of yesterday is still working in our lives today and wants to make a miracle in your life! In fact, the greatest miracle of your entire life is that Jesus is able to save you today, and He is more than able to do a miracle in your life. The question is, have you taken that first step in giving Him your life? 

Something to think about:

Do you believe in Jesus?
Do you trust that He remains a God of miracles forever?
If yes, do you believe that He wants to make a miracle in your life today?
“All that the Father gives Me will come to Me, and the one who comes to Me I will never turn away.” John 6:37. Joseph Toubia

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center