This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

The Notorious Facebook A.I. Spy (And Exquisite Beauty Of A Designer Whiskey Glass)...

We've probably all heard the stories of how Facebook (and Google) "spies" on its users, accessing their microphones to funnel conversations through some voice-detection A.I. that is then used to customize their advertisement feed to you...

Yet's it's something else when it actually happens to you.


51B7F102-1B41-4C28-8B4F-8C4316CBA02C.jpeg

A friend had arrived to visit from Indonesia to stay with us for a few days, and brought a bottle of scotch as a gift...

While opening it, I told her that I've been thinking about needing to get some proper whiskey glasses, as I got a mini-bottle from my mom for Christmas and we don't have any yet (still settling back to Canada from Bali), and that this must be a call-to-action to get on top of it and buy already.

Not even 10 minutes later, what shows up in my Instagram feed...?

A sponsored advertisement for a whiskey glass.

The first time I've ever seen a whiskey glass advertised on any of my social media.

Coincidence?

Doubtful.


Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 8.32.53 PM.png

Creepy?

A little.

Yet, whatcha gonna do.

Facebook and Google are known for this. So even though it was the first time it happened to me, it wasn't really a surprise.

So spare the shock factor... t'is what it is.

And despite what resistance there might have been to the whole idea, my curiosity was piqued. Cuz the ad presented actually looked pretty interesting.

So yeah... opened it up to see what this whole Norlan whiskey glass was about... and was rather intrigued.


Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 8.43.52 PM.png

Frankly, I never knew such a thing existed.

Sure, makes sense that there'd be some whiskey connoisseurs who were doing exquisitely designed high-end glasses. Though first exposure to such a thing... t'was interesting.

And c'mon... this thing is just straight fucking sexy, really.

I mean, I'm not a serious whiskey drinker. And if there actually is a difference in the taste and smell between a "normal" glass and one of these specially-crafted ones, I probably wouldn't be able to notice that much of a difference. But that aside, I can definitely appreciate the degree of artistry that's gone into this glasswork.

The curves... the finely-cut angles... the radiance with which the light reflects off them...

As much as I may not have particularly liked the idea of Facebook spying on my conversation to have them monetize it as though I'm a faceless consumer... fuck. I was seriously considering whether to buy these things!


Screen Shot 2018-02-18 at 9.03.14 PM.png

Though, I didn't.

$60 for two whiskey glasses...?

Mmmmm, couldn't quite justify it.

Nearly went back to the site again and was almost ready to a day later... but... nah. At least not now.

However, I have decided to get them for my dad - a scotch-lover - for Father's Day. So, as invasive as the damn Facebook marketing machine might seem (although we can't really complain, having agreed to their Terms & Conditions of usage), it is effective.

In the meantime, I went to the local "Bed, Bath & Beyond" store to find a whiskey glass. And coincidentally, upon walking in, I was asked what I was looking for by a gentleman who proceeded to educate me on the "glencairn whiskey glass" which is the glass for single malt, sharing some of his stories about drinking with his college buddies and professors, taste-testing various scotches.

So, I fucking bought one. $10.

And, I dunno how much of a difference it makes. (Though perhaps should compare between it and a normal glass just to see). But whatever the case, it looks good. Works good. Happy customer.


IMG_0617.jpg

Moral of the story?

I dunno.

Maybe: know that Facebook is spying on you. So don't bitch when it happens. If you don't like it, don't fucking use Facebook.

And if you have agreed to their Terms & Conditions, opening your conversation to their A.I. algorithms to they can custom-tailor your advertisement feed to your particular needs...

Well, it might not be such a bad thing after all.

Yeah, it might seem a little creepy and invasive at first.

Though who knows what beauty and inspiration it might lead to in the end...