An ice-cold house...and the nagging gym voice...on a Sunday...

IMG_2604.jpg


Ooff...

It sure wasn't easy waking up this morning.

A couple of heavy hitters last night is not the ideal recipe to wake up fresh the next day...

I had a great night though, very relaxing. I do think that's also healthy.

I rolled out of bed and straight away noticed something strange.

It was -200 degrees in the house. Ice-Cold.

I went to the garage and saw a red flickering light on the boiler.

Great...I had the thing serviced a couple of months back after years of just leaving it.

And it's always the bloody same.

In my experience, when you get something serviced that isn't broken the chance that the person that does the work does something that will break later on is much higher than the chance of them actually preventing anything from breaking.

I pressed the reset button to no avail...the red light came back on.

Mmm...then I remembered one trick I learned years ago.

The red light thing happened before and it was caused by a blocked drain pipe from the boiler.

I decided to have a look.

I removed the protective cover of the boiler and unscrewed the drain pipe.

I saw the problem instantly. The whole pipe was covered with a cement type sediment (probably Calcium, the water where I live is very hard).

I got a metal rod and started to chip away at the blockage.

It took a good 20 minutes but eventually, I got through it.

What I chipped away was probably several years of build-up, meaning that the maintenance guy missed it and didn't break anything. (I'm not sure if that's better or worse).

I put the whole thing back together and pressed the red button.

The machine sprung back alive! Warm water started to flow again through the veins of the house.

Great success!

I thought I deserved a brew and made a nice coffee and sat down.

Much better. Much more Sunday like...

And then.

Then that little voice in my head started to wake up too.

Gym...

"O God, no...not today".

Gym...

"Ffs"

Gym...you also didn't go yesterday...

"But it's Sunday!"

Gym...If you don't go now, you know where it will lead...

"%##$^%$...I hate it when the voice is right".

Losing your gym routine starts with not going to the gym for reason X.

Maybe your tired, maybe it's Sunday, maybe you had a rough day, maybe anything...

I went upstairs and changed into my gym clothes.

I drove to the gym and got on the exercise bike and started paddling.

So heavy....Body not happy, not cooperating....

The first 5 minutes are always the worst, especially when you don't feel like it at all.

But keep at it long enough and capitulation always comes.

It took a good 10 minutes but the good body started to warm-up, legs felt stronger. My mind got happier.

I didn't go full out but burned a nice 400cals on the bike regardless in 30 minutes.

After that, I did another 30 minutes of body exercises (pushups, lunges that sort of stuff).

After an hour I was beaten.

I changed and drove home.

I sat down and poured myself a second brew.

The house had warmed up nicely in the time I was away. It felt cozy and warm and, even better, the nagging voice was gone.

Good, now the real Sunday can begin!



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:


Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect


We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency