Strange behavior

We had a bit of a late launch as the weather was not great at first, we knew we would have a couple of hours window period before the wind came up and would making fishing on the jetski very difficult.

It was a easy launch on the high tide and we put a white and orange and a pink and silver Rapala out to target some tuna.

I went on with a fish very quickly on the white and orange lure. As soon as the ski came to a stop I immediately noticed a shark in the water and warned Mark to get ready with the gaf to try get the fish out before I get taxed. I was converted pretty fast and my fish became a battle between me and a bull shark.

At this stage we noticed that there were maybe four or five of them under the ski but it's usually only a concern for the fish that was hooked.

When I fight a fish I turn around to face the back of the ski making it easier for me to land them in the footwell of the jetski. This time I saw a shark charging the back of the ski at one hell of a speed! It was huge and I could even see the remora's attached to him!

Yes of course I screamed like a girl as he came up to take a test bite of the ski where my feet were a few seconds ago 😱

We could not just start the engine and move as I was still tight with another one of them at the end of my line.

The shark decided the ski deserved another taste as he came up and tried to take a bite out of the back.

Well we needed no further encouragement to get the hell out of the area. We followed the hooked shark for a bit to gain some line back and I was super happy when he broke the leader line with a flick of his tail 🙏

Fear is what I felt in that moment and a keen realization that we must expect the unexpected on the ocean.

Reluctantly we carried on fishing but it was not our day for bringing any game fish home.

We hooked good fish but lost them shot for shot to the apex predators that has learned a hooked fish is a easy free meal.

We changed tactics several times but with the same result.

I guess that's why we call our sport 'fishing' , not 'catching' .

We have to respect these amazing creatures of the ocean even though some days they are a nuisance to us. They are vital to the health of our oceans and deserve protection.

We live in a marine reserve so here they are plentiful but other areas have almost none left.

I am aware that further north in Mozambique they get caught for their fins and released with no way to swim and they die a horrible death.

Conservation and education is key to the future of our oceans, but respect for the nature we have left is the most important.

#extremefishingafrica #assassin #ladyanglers #schoolofminnows #schoolofsteem #studentofsteem #teacherofsteem #saltlife #oceansports #anglers #anglingaddicts #outdoors

Screenshot_20220216_161514.jpg

IMG_20220216_161725.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now