This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Expectation Management

Someone recently commented about my seeming resilience in the face of repeated setbacks. Some may wonder where that comes from. I can boil it down to two words: Expectation Management.

You see, I had it pretty rough as a kid having been ostracized to to a speech handicap I had which took me ten years to overcome. And with something like that, you'll either be broken by it, or adapt and overcome it.

And I sure as hell wasn't gonna let it break me. :)

Growing up dirt poor, one of the ways that I coped was to never stop dreaming of a better tomorrow, but to shape my expectations in order to downsize any potential disappointment.

Take entering a contest, for instance. Others would have sky-high unrealistic hopes for getting something with little to no effort. But me; I'd say: "It would be nice to win, but knowing the odds, this'll be for fun. If I win, great, If not, at least I an learn something along the way.

That my friends, is proper Expectation Management.

This versatility allows me to keep coming back following repeated setbacks. As I always keep things in check, so that unlike others, I'm not crushed by the outcome.

Will losing job after job cause you to drown your sorrows, OR... Spur you into finally starting that online business that yu've always dreamed of?

Some of the most useful blessings can come wrapped in adversity...

I think far too often, people get caught up in "Keeping up with the Joneses" and not building their own dreams. One of the axioms that I live by, is that it's good form to be happy for them when someone finds success. But twinned with that happiness for their good fortune, you better believe I wanna know HOW THEY DID IT, SO I CAN DO IT TOO!

Mama didn't raise no fool.:)

Jealousy is like a cancer that will eat you up from the inside out. Far better to deconstruct what they did right in their win and find ways to replicate that in your own life, while managing those expectations along the way.

If you found that this post added value or inspired you, you know what to do... :)

Please check out my recent posts:


Image Credit: 1