Mastering Ethereum Challenge Part 2 - Deployed my first smart contract!

In this sit down, I have:

  • Covered 40 pages of the book (p. 1 ~ p. 39)
  • Written my first smart contract (Faucet.sol).
  • Compiled my first smart contract using Remix IDE.
  • Register my first smart contract on the Ethereum Ropsten Testnet.
  • Deployed my first smart contract on Ethereum Ropsten Testnet.
  • Interacted with my deployed contract.
    -- Fund the faucet w 1 ETH.
    -- Withdraw 0.1 ETH from the faucet.
    -- Check the transaction history and internal txs of the faucet.

image.png


Thoughts


  • Pretty easy for a beginner like me to follow.
  • You would need the following as the book assumes you already have:
    -- Visual Studio Code - for writing the smart contract (.sol file)
    -- Github - for referring to the sample tutorial files
  • Once you have the above, it's pretty much monkey-see-monkey-do level of difficulty following the book.


Learnings & Takeaways


I finally have a clearer picture how a smart contract is created and deployed.

  • First, you need to write the contract.
  • Then, you need to compile the contract into EVM bytecode... which is not in comprehensible English.
  • Lastly, you need to deploy the contract onto the blockchain.

Biggest Takeaway?
I learn how to deploy contracts on a testnet so it does not cost real money.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency