Searching for a new regular street food, my favourite stall is on long holiday; เสาะหาร้านอาหารใหม่ ที่เดิมหยุดยาว

This is my entry for #wednesdaywalk created by @tattoodjay. I didn’t expect my favourite haunt for cheap and good street food to take a long holiday. The prospect of paying for expensive and unpalatable food in restaurants in the shopping mall was not acceptable to me. I have been spoiled by these free lance cooking stalls with their homely food. So, I went for a walk along the side streets searching for a backup fast food joint.

bwecz7.jpg

My favourite area is around the Taksin Bridge or Sathorn Pier by the river just five minutes’ walk to New Road in Bangrak District. You could see the Robinson Shopping Mall on New Road as soon as you walk out of the skytrain station on your left hand side. Of course, there are many restaurants in this mall but I find them rather boring after a while. It’s so much nicer to see a cook preparing a dish for y to he customer, one at a time. My usual hangout has taken a long holiday. So, hunger drives me to go for a walk on a very hot and sunny afternoon.

5uqajx.jpg

5ep3o3.jpg

Crossing to the other side of Robinson, and keep walking to the left where you could see small stalls,tea shops and a crowded bus stop. I had previously found out about this noodle stalls where they make their own fish balls everyday. So, I had to try this noodle place for lunch.

jjuwdx.jpg

44zqm1.jpg

f5a5pe.jpg

I found this noodle place in five minutes; it’s called ‘Jay Lee’ which means ‘Sister Lee’s place’. The stacks of bowls told me that this is a very busy joint with hundreds of customers everyday. So, the atmosphere was very business like and there was no need for any rapport among the staff and customers. They had no time for a chit-chat. Customers just sit on sny available chairs as they are there to eat and leave as soon as they have finished. I felt like I was in a eating factory!

18qtl5.jpg

wzmmwn.jpg

ue3lwj.jpg

hbrnz2.jpg

I shared a table with a very nice pregnant lady. She ordered special soup noodle with all the condiments. I noticed she kept on adding dried chili, crushed peanut and a spoonful of sugar into her bowl! I couldn’t help telling her that she should not add white sugar as it was not very healthy. Seeing my dried noodle with zero condiments,she noted that I was very conscious of eating clean food. She told me she could never eat bland food with minimum taste like this.

hm8d2a.jpg

Above was the lady’s soup noodle bowl while mine was just simply tasteless for Thai standard; there was no fish sauce, no garlic oil, no chili, no MSG, no sugar!

x9nmj0.jpg

The fish balls were fresh and nice but the service was very impersonal. They do not need to be nice to customers as this place is very well known and has lots of customers. I also noticed that the four staff were all Burmese immigrants; they were speaking with that familiar Burmese accent. I had to make an effort in searching for a good backup street food.

w1m4up.jpg

สัปดาห์ที่ผ่านมา เราต้องไปเดินตามหาร้านอาหารดีๆสักร้าน เผื่อเวลาเราออกมาเที่ยวนอกบ้านหรือไปช็อปปิ้ง จะได้มีที่มานั่งพักกินข้าวอร่อยๆและสะอาดสักแห่ง เจ้าเดิมที่กินประจำชอบหยุดไปต่างจังหวัดบ่อยมาก เราก็เบื่ออาหารในห้างแล้ว เดี๋ยวนี้ร้านอาหารเปลี่ยนไป ราคาเท่าเดิมแต่ให้ส่วนประกอบน้อยลง คุณภาพแย่ลงเรื่อยๆ เราก็เริ่มเซ็งและเบื่อมาก สู้ไปกินอาหารตามสั่งที่เขาทำให้เรากินทีละจานไม่ได้ เห็นว่าเขาทำสะอาดและตั้งใจทำให้เรากิน แล้วยังตามใจว่าจะไม่ใส่น้ำตาลและผงชูรสด้วย ร้านอาหารในห้างไม่ยอมทำให้เป็นพิเศษเพราะมันยุ่งยากไป เราก็ไปเดินตามหาร้านอาหารแถวบางรัก เราไปค้นหาข้อมูลรู้ว่ามีร้านลูกชิ้นปลาทำเอง ที่มีชื่อมากที่ถนนเจริญกรุง เราก็ไปเดินหาจนเจอ

lkqme0.jpg

ร้านนี้ชื่อเจ้หลี เป็นร้านที่มีคนรู้จักและมีลูกค้าเป็นร้อยคนในแต่ละวัน ชามตั้งไว้หลายร้อยใบ มีลูกน้องชาวพม่าถึงสี่คน ส่วนโต๊ะอาหารก็เป็นการนั่งแบบรวมกันเวลาที่มีคนมาก เราก็ไปนั่งโต๊ะเดียวกับผู้หญิงท้องแก่หน้าตาใจดีคนหนึ่ง เราสั่งบะหมี่แห้งเย็นตาโฟ เขาสั่งหมี่นํ้าพิเศษ ในชามเขาจึงมีทุกอย่าง แต่เขาเล่นปรุงจนเราตกใจ ใส่ทุกอย่างพริกป่น ถั่วป่น นํ้าตาลเป็นช้อน เราเลยบอกว่าไม่ควรใส่นํ้าตาลเลย เพราะมันไม่ดีกับสุขภาพ พอเขาเห็นบะหมี่แห้งของเรา ที่ไม่มีการปรุงอะไรเลย ไม่มีน้ำปลา นำ้ตาล ผงชูรส กินแบบจืดๆ เขาบอกว่ากินแบบนี้ไม่ได้ แต่รู้ว่าเรากินแบบคนรักสุขภาพดี พนักงานในร้านพูดจาไม่ค่อยดี ร้านนี้ไม่ต้องง้อลูกค้า คนมาเพื่อกินแล้วก็ลุกไป จึงไม่มีการสร้างสัมพันธ์ไมตรีกับลูกค้า เราคิดว่าร้านแบบนี้นั่งกินอาหารไม่อร่อยเลย เราคงต้องพยายามหาร้านแบบเดิมที่เราเคยพบให้ได้ คงไม่ใช่ร้านใหญ่หรือร้านที่มีชื่อเสียงนัก แต่คนทำอาหารและพนักงานต้องเป็นคนนิสัยดี และมีเมตตาเราจึงจะนั่งกินอาหารได้อย่างสบายใจ

fexzp7.jpg

2lilbo.jpg

On the whole I would give 6 out of 10 for this fish noodle joint as the ambience or vibration of this place was not relaxing. It was too business like to me and they are only interested in making profits. They were not interested in customers’ satisfaction. In my favourite for stall, the cook and staff would care how customers enjoy their food, whether the food was not too spicy or the tom-yum was sour enough. Sometimes, the cook knew I was very hungry, she would give me extra portion to make me happy. It is so difficult to find good cooks who try to please their customers and take pride in their profession. If they didn’t see me for weeks, they would be asking about my well being. This nice rapport makes the eating experience much more enjoyable.

3o1s1k.jpg

Wishing you all a very wonderful weekend.

Cheers.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency