My Beautiful Sunday: my second class of teaching kids basic English,สอนภาษาอังกฤษเด็กๆในหมู่บ้านครั้งที่สอง

This is my late entry for #beautifulsunday hosted by @ace108. Life has been very hectic and intense for me during the last two weeks. Luckily, I was only exhausted and got a heat stroke from all my activities. Somehow, my Sunday English class for kids from the village was going quite well.

7exk88gkav.jpg

e2uodjnpf8.jpg

Surprisingly, the young students arrived too early for my class so they had to entertain themselves in the garden. They brought along two friends who would like to join my class. In fact, I was expecting only about five or six students as some might want to drop out. But the total number has come up to eleven children. Luckily, two brothers went to visit their aunt in Korat. So, there was enough space for nine kids.

kmehuy6x3i.jpg

olus8hp3jk.jpg

I was quite impressed that they all did their homework according to their own interpretation of my Thai instruction. I could not speak the local dialect so they would have some difficulty in accurately understanding my formal Thai wordings. But, at schools they all have to read and write in formal Thai. This time I could remember all the kids’ names and I began my class by asking them to tell a story about their impression during the last week. They did not understand the word ‘impression’ in formal Thai. This was very interesting and challenging to me! I have to learn to communicate with young students in Thai!

7gja77q1cu.jpg

sxf9dpnjmo.jpg

อาทิตย์ที่ผ่านมาเราสอนพิเศษภาษาอังกฤษ เป็นครั้งที่สองแล้ว เราแปลกใจมากที่เด็กนักเรียนมาถึงเช้ามากตั้งเกือบชั่วโมง เด็กจึงต้องเล่นกันในสวนก่อน เราคิดว่าคงมีคนมาเรียนเพียงห้าคนกระมัง แต่เด็กกลับพาเพื่อนมาเพิ่มอีกสองคน โชคดีที่เด็กสองคนไปเยี่ยมป้าที่โคราช เราจึงมีที่นั่งพอสำหรับเด็กนักเรียนเก้าคน เด็กทุกคนทำการบ้านที่เราสั่งไป แต่ตลกตรงที่เด็กไม่ค่อยเข้าใจคำสั่งที่เป็นภาษากลาง จึงตีความเรื่องการบ้านต่างกันไป ทำให้เราได้เรียนรู้เรื่องใหม่อีกหนึ่งอย่าง ยิ่งพอเราให้แต่ละคนเล่าความประทับใจในสัปดาห์ที่ผ่านมา ก็รู้ว่าเด็กไม่เข้าใจคำว่า ประทับใจ เรายิ่งต้องพยายามคิดคำพูดที่เด็กเข้าใจง่ายๆในอนาคต ครั้งที่สองนี้ เราจำขื่อเล่นเด็กได้ทุกคนและเริ่มรู้ว่าใครมีนิสัยอย่างไร ข้อดีของเด็กที่นี่คือ มีความเคารพผู้ใหญ่และฟังเหตุผล ทำให้เราสอนแบบให้มีส่วนร่วมในการพูดคุยได้ เรากำลังพยายามให้เด็กกล้าแสดงความคิดเห็น กล้าพูดต่อหน้าเพื่อน และให้หัดฟังเวลาคนอื่นพูดด้วย ต่อไปจะได้ไม่เก็บกดและกล้าแสดงความคิดเห็นอย่างสุภาพ

k22960gfx4.jpg

ofokk6rlqd.jpg

jpqjnq054n.jpg

The English class lasted about one hour and thirty minutes. These kids were making very good progress as they were very attentive and serious about speaking English. My gardener has become the school principal as she always prepared fruits of these kids after class. The youngest kid, studying at grade two, found it rather difficult to keep up with his eldest brother. But I just let him sitting there without putting any pressure on him; he seemed to enjoy his friends’ company.

k4tfdj8zmm.jpg

bmovabyr8q.jpg

I am also trying to teach these kids to express themselves and their thoughts in class. Most Thai students dread speaking in front of the class as they are timid and shy. Slowly I would teach them to learn to listen to others and exchanging ideas in public. And, hopefully their English pronunciation would become less heavy with Thai accent. I never taught small kids English before and this Sunday school gives me food for thought and some funny moments too.

aylnpm9b9s.jpg

aoetukytfs.jpg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Cheers.

My previous posts

Have a look at Prince Palace Hotel for SteemFest 4

Boat trip from SteemFest hotel venue to Siam Center

Trip to China Town

Visit to Wat Bovorn

Free boat trip to ICONSIAM

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency