Bhut Jolokia - Last Update Until Next Year

Greetings Steemians,

Some of you might have been following along with my pepper plant journey.

I was fortunate enough to acquire a bhut jolokia (ghost pepper) plant over the summer, and did my absolute best to nurture and care for it.

I was successful with this endeavor, and produced some 1 million scoville peppers, which ultimately my plan was to do the ghost pepper challenge.

That was my first post on @threespeak, and thankfully I owned that challenge like a boss. I was going to upload no matter how it went, and really I want to experience something even hotter than these. Next summer I might try to get some Carolina Reapers. Not sure yet, but I have some plans.

So anyway, enough rambling.

After a little research on how to care for a pepper plant during the winter, I was pleasantly surprised to learn that I could put the plant into hibernation!

Awesome! So now I'll be able to grow some more of these next year, and I might need to re-pot it into something bigger as well, but we'll worry about that when the time comes. This is the current state of my bhut jolokia:


image.png

As you can see, it's now sleeping, but still very green and healthy!

How about a semi-macro shot?


image.png

Indeed, bhut is very healthy, and even though pepper plants are asexual as far as I know, this plant feels female to me, I'm not sure why, but that's just the vibe I get, what do you all think? :)

Some of my green thumb friends might also notice the exposed roots. I'm well aware, and will take care of this next year. For now it's in a dark closet and I know it won't be an issue.

Here's what bhut looked like over the summer:



Source

Not bad for growing in a coffee container! :)

In other news...

My succulents are under infestation currently with gnats. I think they are a "mold/fungus gnat", but unfortunately for them, my plants can go a long time without water, so I'm combating with refraining from watering. About a week without a watering and I notice the population has come down drastically, another 3 weeks I'm guessing we should be good. I know my plants will survive because I love them so much. I'll be taking some photos of them as well in the near future and sharing.

Photography by futuremind with Samsung WB100


Thank you all for stopping by. I hope you're having a wonderful day!


Much love,
@futuremind



Posted with eSteem Surfer

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency