Themed Christmas Parties: How to Dress Up on a Budget

Image by Юлия Каряка from Pixabay

You gotta admit that there's a little part of us that loves to dress up when the occasion calls for it, but now we've all been coerced required to bundle up into restrictive attires...

2020
Image from imgflip

This makes me reminisce my posts when trick-or-treating and getting all glammed up for parties was as simple as just breathing.

deep breath
GIF from Tumblr

Usually, now that Halloween has come and gone, most of us folks are now setting up for what the Christmas season brings-- you know, guests and gatherings. In my case, we'd be all revved up for our corporate Christmas parties:

2017

2018

2019

It was somewhat agitating to found out we had to go with a certain theme during my first year, which was being in Christmas colors and hats. (probably like a bunch of funky elves) Fortunately, I had a fancy dress just lying around in my wardrobe, so I went with that plus some cheap clip-on "hat".

Year 1

Heh. So I survived my first year on the job with most of my savings intact and before I knew it, here was our second themed Christmas party! Now guys, here was the tricky part 'cuz it went along the lines of "Dress up like your 21 year old self", which kinda left me hanging like...

long years
GIF from Tenor

Though shopping through this little shop did come in handy...

Year 2

Imma be pullin' out my cheat sheet just to point out that this could be qualified as my younger self:

HS

Now fancy this, our third themed Christmas party seemed to be going big as they wanted something.. grand I'm telling you, it's a catalyst by going with the Modern Filipiniana / Barong trend:

modern filipiniana
Image from FashionPULIS

modern barong
Image from GMANetwork

And yeah, a lot of them really went all out but as for me? Well I just got creative with some of my mom's vintage stuff:

POTO

Since I already had this velvety dress, I just had to spend on a little this & that to be able to go with the overall theme of the party, and voila!

Year 3

I have to admit, there was a time when I would really go all out on these sort of events but with the world as it is right now, there are probably some things that you've come to realize as more important than what you first thought. And you gotta ask yourself, what is the true meaning of Christmas?

disney feels
GIF source from Disney UK


Originally posted on Daydreams on the Moon. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency