Finding Our Paradise: Anime Review on Wolf's Rain

Image by InspiredImages from Pixabay

Welcome Moon Rockies to Otaku Thursday! During these past several months where we've suddenly found ourselves with quite a lot of time in our hands, some of us have taken to binge watching kdramas on Netflix or whatnot.

kdrama crying
GIF from kstarlive

Though personally, I spent some of my free time discovering new animes, which I have noticed, tended to lean towards the 'lighter' side of life. Though one should never really judge others for their preference of "escaping reality", seeing the current state of the world's affairs.

current affairs
Image from MEME

This however reminded me of a certain anime I happened to watch when I was a kid, which would later prompt me into writing this review as I have done for the previous animes I have had the inspiration to post my opinions on.

wolf's rain
Image from FANDOM

According to an old legend, when the end of the world comes, a place known as Paradise will appear. However, only wolves will know how to find it. Although wolves are believed to have been hunted to extinction nearly two hundred years ago, they still exist, surviving by casting illusions over themselves to make them appear human.
-Plot Synopsis from Wikipedia

The story then focuses on Kiba, a lone white wolf who at first refuses to cast such illusions on himself, but later concedes to do so as he encounters more of his kind along the way.

kiba
GIF from tenor

It then progresses to the wolves following the "Key to Paradise"-- a Lunar flower named Cheza-- through various cities that once used to be inhabitable. The journey to Paradise proves to be a long and winding road, but will this pack of wolves prevail?

gravity
GIF from tenor

POSSIBLE SPOILERS below this line!

Which to answer your questions, yes most of them did kind of make it to Paradise, though that final episode still leaves me with a certain sort of anxiety in a way that says 'Light can never exist without Darkness' (blame the kid who was barely ten when she watched this whole series)

lunar flower
GIF created with gifrun

Other than that how the story in itself went, the pacing was real fast (too fast if you ask me, this could have gone for more than 30 episodes), and I gotta say the animation was real smooth (warning of blood and gore in some episodes, but if you're into that, we're cool). It's also a plus for me that most of the characters are easy to look at. (blatantly stares at Kiba and Tsume)

bronohomo
GIF created with gifrun

On a final note, that post-credits / sort of epilogue scene didn't really quite buy it for me and only left me, in a word, befuddled. (Though I gotta hand it to the creators that it was a good way to tie up with the Opening credits song.)

FINAL RATING:
Animation - 4 ⭐
Story Pacing - 3 ⭐
Warnings of Blood / Gore / Death - 4 ⭐


Originally posted on Daydreams on the Moon. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency