Spoiler review of 3rd season of "Boku no Hero Academia"

oku.jpg

You can watch it at Crunchyroll.

After the All for One vs All Might fight, I thought I would title this text in more or less the same way - "Boku no Hero Academia - Why is this anime so sucking?" As you could read in the text about the Shounen Jump manga or in the review of the first two seasons, I do not have a good opinion about this fairy tale. From the beginning until the exam for the provincial license I treated BnHA as "Hunter x Hunter for the poor", which sometimes has micro flashes. She was too hacky to enjoy it fully, but on the other hand, it is perfect for watching at dinner. Fortunately, just before the fight with All for One began to get intriguing, and the next arc strengthened my feeling that the series is starting to be really interesting! Just as the first 2 seasons I rated at 7/10, so I can give a slightly pulled 8, despite the fact that the first half of the third season did not win my approval.

1.jpg

But let's start with good changes - Tomura Shigaraki finally became noteworthy Villian (if even Bomber from HxH is more interesting than you, know that you are a unique pitcher). After all these episodes, his one-dimensional character was slightly expanded and we were able to look into her past. I hope that his development will only progress and eventually he will be able to carry out some successful action that will end in his decisive victory. Bakugo achieved even better development. This ceased to be just a stereotypical and generic rival, and his character was unexpectedly well developed. The "explosive" boy is not often taken seriously because of his nervous reactions, but he also has his feelings and weaknesses. He threw them out in a surprising way for me during the fight with Deku. All Might is and his authority, like also a motivator for daily trainings. More and more questions about Deku and his power began to appear in his head, he tried to find out the answers to the questions tormenting him, but to no avail. Teen frustration had to find its outlet, so he forced his peer to take on the glove. It is worth noting that the protagonist also made some progress - he quickly understood that this time he would not end with fart-fart and must solidly beat Bakugo's face. As a result, the relationship between the trio improved, and the toxic atmosphere between him and Kacchan was purified. I did not expect such original and unusual solutions after BnHA, so I write to him as a plus. If you trust your friends, it will still be better, so I have nothing left to do but wait for the next episodes.

3.jpg

It is similar to the exam as with later events. They are another, even bigger step. There were a lot of interesting characters - a man with the power of the wind, which I associated with Jotaro from "Jojo’s Bizzare Adventure", Twice, Overhaul, Hardcore TinTin. Perhaps many of you will not like my approach, but I think "My Hero Academia" was a bit trivial up to this point. As I wrote in the previous text, it lacked proprietary solutions, but there was a lot of copying the best ideas from other battlefield players. This changed with the start of the license exam. The tasks on it were a real challenge and I watched the students' struggles with flushed faces. It was fun to watch the creative use of your Quirk and the elements of the environment. I liked the serious approach of the last stage examiners, which perfectly showed one of the basic differences between pros and rookies. The former, regardless of their past, are able to cooperate and define priorities beyond their shortcomings and are not easily provoked. Returning to power, Mirio Togata's words sum it up perfectly (in total, Crocodile said a little similarly in "One Piece" or Hisoka in "Hunter x Hunter") - the strength of power depends on the user's creativity and the degree of its mastery. If we properly train the strengths of our skills, we can be devilishly effective, even with theoretically weak potential. It all depends on us and our abilities.

4.png

But let it not be that I am only sweetening - I did not like the beginning at all and it was worse than in previous seasons. I think the training camp and this weak reference to the Pussycat Dolls band are pretty bad. "League of Pitchers", as I allowed myself to be called a group led by Shigaraki, as she was, she remained bland. In turn, the fight between the symbol of justice and his high enemy went below my expectations. I liked the mango version much more. The startup seemed more dynamic, All Might also look much better in my opinion. In general, the whole duel except the ending, a few sequences of exchanging blows, and a fragment about Tomura I consider as a wasted potential. Looking, he has later episodes, the arrival of the high villain seemed too hasty to me. To further piss you off - in my opinion, the duel between Deku and Muscular was even worse and I don't know what people saw in it so cool. Sure, the guy has a power that is consistent with reality (if we assume that there is such a thing as Quirk), but the fight itself was neither pretty nor the idea for it was not particularly revealing. I can only appreciate that thanks to her Deku has embraced a new style of fighting, which is something I do not associate with the shounen-battle I saw. Melee fight on full fuck is my favorite style, and sensible use of the strongest muscles (let him fight like Eddy from "Tekken 3", please!).

2.jpg

When it comes to openings, I can say without hesitation that those from season 3 are my favorites. I didn't like the first one the first time, but over time the song caught my ear, and I still find the moments with All Might lovely. It was completely different from the next one, which I love at first sight. Great song selection, well-chosen scenes (although some are somewhat secondary to those from previous openings), proper distribution of accents, basically I have nothing to fault because it is simply solidly made and gives me real joy while watching, like intros from the best fairy tales.
That's all in all. I know that I repeat this one time in this review, but I can't wait for the next season and I hope that the Bones studio will raise the bar and serve us something even better. And how did you like this season "My Hero Academia"? What fight did you like the most? Which character did you like the most? I am happy to discuss this.

5.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now