Week 09 Response -- TOMS Impacting the World

Question: How much of an impact do major companies like TOMS really make? (TOMS® and Save the Children have been working together since 2011 to improve health and education outcomes for children in the United States and around the world)
@macie.mcpeak/week-09-questions-addressing-extreme


Image Source:

During my freshman year, our class fund-raised $6,946 for Save the Children. We got to see never before seen clips of new projects they were working on, and it helped bring their cause to light in our city. In my high school for graduation, the higher ups wanted all of us to match. We were all given TOMS donated by the University of Georgia. They were black and red but more importantly, they were custom made. Also, in my high school we did learner of the month and if you got learner of the month, you would get a gift card and TOMS. I got it my sophomore year in October, so I got a gift card along with TOMS. My high school required service hours and we had many philanthropy events so giving back was a main priority. We never put much thought into TOMS until my senior year. My friends and I had to do a research project and we picked TOMS. The thought of buying a pair and donating a pair for the price of one drew a lot of people in. “By 2013, TOMS was reportedly making 250 million dollars in sales a year and had donated 10 million pairs of shoes since it's launch. Just one year later, the company was valued at 625 million dollars.” (Business Insider) I think TOMS is doing more than people think. If in 2013, they donated 10 million shoes, and if it’s 2021 they donated a whole lot more. In 2013 TOMS had just the classic shoe with the canvas material but now they have so many more options. I think creating popular styles helped bring in more customers therefore they had more sales and were more successful. Again, I do think these major companies make impacts because they have incentives for their customer. Everyone wants to be better especially if you can shop for yourself and then also donate a pair of shoes.

Credit:
https://www.businessinsider.com/rise-and-fall-of-toms-shoes-blake-mycoskie-bain-capital-2020-3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency