The school system of today, and the things I don't understand about it.

(Following the advice of a few people, I thought to include a picture.)

So today, I started classes again. I haven't been in this setting in quite some time (3 months), and it was a bit of a shock. I am taking a GED class which is basically a learn at your own pace kind of thing. If you do your work like you're supposed to, you'll get out of there relatively quickly. (Compared with high school at least.)

I would have graduated a few years ago, but we moved a couple of times, and they had decided to make the GED test harder (back in 2014). And today, I found out that yet again, they made the math portion of the test even more challenging. One thing that bothers me about that, is that this is widely known as a "High School Equivalency" test. I actually really disagree with this.

With my knowledge of the public high school system, I know that they have implemented that "no child left behind" program. While I understand to SOME extent why this is a good thing, there are some downfalls to it. One being, those people who really don't try and they get passed through school and are just handed a diploma, having accomplished little more than attending. Again, I understand that there are some people that NEED this program. What I don't understand is why they keep making the GED test harder. Back when I was studying in 2012, it was already a challenge. Not saying that I'm scholar status or anything, but I deem myself as a fairly intelligent person. So, changing it twice in the span of a couple of years? Why?

I fail to see what this accomplishes. I mean, you have several classes full of people who want/need this, and most of them are willing to do the work, but they're making this goal harder and harder to achieve. 

And another thing that I fail to understand is why the High School diploma is held in a higher regard than a GED. There are some colleges that won't accept GED's, and I know of some businesses that won't hire you if you only have a GED. (Granted, you're more likely to be hired than if you have nothing, but still)

I know this post doesn't really have a complete conclusion, but this is something that has been bugging me for awhile, and I wanted to get your thoughts on it.

   I hope you're all having a nice evening. (:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center