House hunting, nearing conclusion.

front_view.jpg
I am filled with fear and trepidation. I found this house, sitting on 1.6 acres/0.647497hectares of land, with woods at the back that are MINE
aerial_view_of_plot.jpg
Or should I saw, they will be once the VA Appraiser does his thing. Unless for some extraordinary reason he/she deems the property isn't worth the $205K I am borrowing for this purchase.
I've been holding back making this post for fear of jinxing things.
image.png
The house was originally constructed in 1940, so it is 80 yrs old. It was recently renovated slightly, mostly the kitchen and a second bathroom added to the big room in the back, which was itself added at some point in the past.
approximate_floor_plan.jpg

I created this floor plan, so it is very inaccurate in scale, but I hoped to make it give an overall impression

image.png
I think it should be illegal to use wide angle lenses when making these photographs, as everything looks disproportionally large

When you come in through the front door from the porch, this is the "living room?"
Through the arched opening you can see the kitchen (across what I assume will be my dining room area)
I REALLY dislike not having over counter cabinets, so that will be yet another expense once I take possession.
image.png
The Granite counter tops, that island counter, the "Shaker Style" cabinetry were the recent additions, along with the hood fan over the stove, I'm sure the sink was replaced as well.
band_room_1.jpg
In the back yard, there is this standalone building. When I first walked in, it was very dark, its all one room, and I'm trying to figure out what was going on.
Then I noticed the raised platform. The outlets running all around the room, and the light went on in my head.

THIS had been a BAND ROOM

And I was sold.
band_room_3.jpg
At the end of the main house, (I believe that the original had ended at the back wall of the kitchen) there is a mudroom with a side door to the outside,
image.png
The laundry room was added first I think

and a GREAT ROOM that takes the entire end of the building.
greatroom_.jpg
(I think that closet was added in this last renovation, and I know the bathroom was)
Counting the Band Room
(I found that one of the neighbors used to own this house, his brother lived in it and HE built the band room, for his band to jam and practice in. It is nearly sound proof)
There are three other outbuildings, including a garage the is probably as old as the house
image.png
Until a few days ago it was locked. I had no idea what was inside.
I told them I didn't want to move forward with out knowing, there might be toxic waste or dead bodies in there, or maybe a vintage car!!!
But alas, just an old fridge and a bunch of stuff stored overhead
pxl_20201118_144910399.jpg

pxl_20201118_144934387.jpg
My car will fit nicely in there, should I decide to use it.
There is a tool shed next to the garage
image.png
dsc_0001c.jpg
And there is a shed in back that I'm sure was meant to keep lawn mowers and other yard maintenance tools and equipment
tool_shed_and_band_room_from_the_woods_gate.jpg
This image was taken from the gate at the back of the yard, where if you turn around, you will be looking back into MY WOODS
gate_to_the_woods.jpg
I took a walk back there last Monday.
dsc_0006.jpg
dsc_0005.jpg
The previous owners had a wacky sense of humor it seems. They still live one house over, and I've begun making their acquaintance.

THE BUSINESS

In September 2020 the neighbors sold the house to an investor for $124,000 USD
They painted everything gray, re-did the kitchen, renovated the bathroom (hall), created the bathroom in the "Great Room" added the closet there as well.
The listing says the HVAC system is a HEAT PUMP, but in fact the heat is Natural Gas, and cooling is a normal AC unit.
And the problems begin.

  1. All that air handler and furnace are underneath the house.
  2. To change the filter, you have to get down on your hands and knees, crawl into the dark damp crawl space, remove quite a few screws, just to replace that filter.
  3. The inspector said he could not get to the driveway side of the crawl space because there wasn't room to get over the HVAC system.
  4. There is no refrigerator in the kitchen
    So I will at a minimum, have to buy a refrigerator.
    The seller has agreed to fix many small things that the inspector found, and the couple of large things.
    BUT they categorically refuse to do anything about the electrical problems in the Band Room stating that it was sold "as is"
    The investor had this listed for $199,900, to beat out other bidders I had to increase my offer to $205,000: I will be in debt for the rest of my life.
    (This is not a done deal yet. If the VA approves, my closing date is Dec 11)

    "House Hunting, nearing conclusion"

    by
    Jerry E Smith
    ©11/22/2020
    Images are original or screen snips



    These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks


    cyktlq.png
    image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency