Anathema [original song, DRUMMER WANTED]



This is a pretty experimental song that came together in layers. It's lo-fi and I like it that way. The original recording happened to fall in my lap in a most unlikely way.

I was watching a documentary but it needed time to buffer. I turned in my chair to go do something else and my foot landed on the end of my guitar cable which was plugged into my amp that I had forgotten to turn off, making the strange noise you hear all throughout the song. Stoned as I was, I found the sound fascinating and began stomping on the cable in some sort of repetition, experimenting with it. In the middle of all of this, the tornado sirens started to go off outside. It wasn't one of those first-of-the-month test days; the sky was green outside and there was an actual storm coming. You can hear towards the end of the recording that the documentary does kick back on, after which point I discovered that all of this was actually being recorded, as I had also forgotten to turn off my recording gear.

With such a unique recording captured, I decided to turn it into an actual song and first added a layer of piano to it using the old out-of-tune Wurlitzer I had in my place at the time. Countless other layers followed, until I had built up a hulking monstrosity. It's the sort of song that probably goes at the end of an album, as a "hidden track" perhaps.

I feel like I will add more bass, carrying that main riff throughout the song, and it could also use some drums. So if you're interested in adding some, or something else entirely, let me know!



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now