This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Powerful Technologies For Road Warriors


Power Technologies for The Road Warrior

By Terry Brock for DSound, Steemit and my fellow Steemians!

I recently wrote an article for Business Journals, where I write regularly, when I was in Acapulco, Mexico. I was serving as master of ceremonies for a conference called Anarchapulco, an event built around discussion of freedom, entrepreneurship, health and living for international travelers.

It is amazing what we can do with today's technology — not only in connecting with you, my fellow Steemians, but also in a larger sense.

Today’s available technologies and policies create an environment that is highly conducive for entrepreneurs and business.

Recently, I purchased a new Samsung Galaxy Note8 — and it is the best device I've ever had since I began buying computers back in the late 1970s. The capabilities that are embedded within the Note8 give me the ability to get most everything I need to do done with that device alone.

Yes, I still use a laptop, as typing on a laptop keyboard is a bit easier for me — but I know I could get an external keyboard for the Note8, and that is something I'm also considering.
Perhaps more notable, however, is what has happened with the carrier that I'm using, T-Mobile (Nasdaq: TMUS), and with other carriers as well. I have a plan that provides unlimited data use with no throttling in Canada, the United States and Mexico. The monthly cost, including taxes is $60.

Geography is less of a factor

Think about the amazing opportunities that opens up, my fellow entrepreneurs. It is nothing short of amazing that we can operate where we are getting full access to the net, making phone calls where needed, and sending text messages. Geography is less of a factor now than ever before. The income-generating possibilities are enormous.

I remember a few years ago I made a trip to Vancouver, Canada, for a presentation I was making there. I made a mistake of turning on my mobile phone and checking email for approximately two minutes. I said it was a mistake because when I got my cell phone bill about one month later I had an additional charge for more than $200 from my carrier.

When I contacted them, they said (and I'm paraphrasing here), "Well, dummy, you signed the agreement five years ago and you should know that when you go to another country you immediately are going to be charged.”

The carrier ultimately ended up reducing it by 50 percent, but I still had to pay more than $100 for those few seconds that I was using data.

My, how things have changed today. Now it’s common that we have unlimited calling on our cell phone plans throughout the United States.

The fact we can do it in all of Canada and all of Mexico with many possible plans is amazing. This increases the options for doing business and earning. I foresee that this same type of fixed pricing could someday encompass most countries in the world.

Voice input becomes easier

Another feature of technology that has increased our productivity enormously is the ability to use voice input. As I create many articles with voice I use a microphone attached to my laptop computer. As a journalist, this gives me the ability to do a quick "brain dump" to get my ideas faster into the computer.

A few years ago, dictation was a painful process that was not very accurate at all. Now, with faster Internet access and increased AI technology, the accuracy has increased dramatically.

The key is to use technology to help people. It's still all about creating value-for-value relationships with customers, suppliers, colleagues and others.

Improved internet access

Here’s another strong benefit: The speed of Internet access has improved greatly in many places. A quick check with my friends at speedtest.net reveals that my speed using the hotel Wi-Fi here is 4.99
Mbps (Megabytes per second) up and down. However, the even better news is what I’m getting when I tested using my mobile hot spot from my U.S. carrier here in Mexico. The geeky nerd in me is pretty excited about a download of 64.89 Mbps and upload of 12.12 Mbps using a no-data-limit plan for up to five devices from my hotel room.

The bottom line, my fellow entrepreneurs, is that the technology is better today than ever to get the results you want and serve customers better than ever. If we have that now, image how the future will be even better. Let the profit-making ventures begin.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Terry

@terrybrock - Steemit


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Logo
Center