Robin Thicke - Blurred Lines - (Rok Sivante Moombahton Edit)

Blurred Lines (Moombahton Madness)...

Oh yeaaaaaaaah...

Lol. This one.

I'd been DJing in Bali for a while, and Robin Thicke's "Blurred Lines" was a favorite at the majority of weddings I was playing at the time.

Well, one thing led to another...

I'd discovered moombahton a couple years earlier, and this was just a match made in heaven...

Listen to Robin Thicke - Blurred Lines (Rok Sivante Moombahton Remix) on dSound



There was this one moment with this track...

I had already played it out a couple times at weddings and it had went off well. However, I lined up a one-off gig in Singapore during a visa run at Tanjong Beach Club on their legendary Sunday afternoons - one of the best gigs I've ever played - and dropped it at the perfect time...

Fuuuuck. I wish I could capture the moment for replay.

Yeah, sure, there were some girls in bikinis dancing on tables that was like just the perfect visual to accompany the soundtrack... yet, the whole vibe was just pumping.

DJing is a fine art. And while they're far and few between, there come moments that are just fucking perfect.

This track, dropped in that venue, and that precise time... oh man.

As much as I can get stoked relistening to this track now, there's no comparison to that moment in time on that system, in that space, bumping to 1500 people on the beach.

The sheer raw dopeness.

Sigh.





note: these three pics are from the second time I played at Tanjong Beach Club

Sadly, moombahton didn't really get too far as a genre.

I suppose Diplo and Dillion Francis did take elements of it to a more commercialized level. Though, it was a more underground movement that - I, personally, at least felt - never did blossom to the extent of what it could have, given how awesome it was.

Some party-rocking shit, those moombahton beats.

Yet, there weren't many producers that had the skill to really execute it masterfully.

Slight digression...

Anyways, I can't claim to have put in immense amounts of effort into the remix, comparable to others I've done that are essentially completely my own productions with only the original vocal stems. This one is merely the original track with some moombahton drum loops laid over.

Nonetheless, it's still dope.

And, I hope and intend that your listening to it may bring some of that sunshine vibe from that legendary Sunday at the beach in Singapore into your psyche, and perhaps some movement into your booty, as that moombahton beat pulses over this classic Pharrell joint...

Enjoy!

Listen to Robin Thicke - Blurred Lines (Rok Sivante Moombahton Remix) on dSound



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments
Ecency