Adventures in peaceful non-compliance Part 2 : Australian Census 2016 [Followup Visit]

No, I still won't comply


This is a followup to my earlier post "Adventures in peaceful non-compliance" from a month ago.

In the post I explained why I'm disobeying government orders to surrended private information about my family, in an insecure manner , just so they can sell it for profit to other private corporations .

Since that post we've seen a continued media scare campaign about fines and disinformation from the government about what exactly happens to the private data of most Aussies.

We've seen ongoing public education campaigns spreading the facts of the matter, and even motions in parliament to try and force the ABS to declare that nobody gets a fine, because the public have completely lost faith in the process and the ABS themselves.

I've had heaps of different letters, and signs that census workers had been to the door and left without even knocking (those lazy ninjas), but about 10 minutes ago I had my first little chat with the government employee turning up at my door, uninvited, again.

letter62188.jpg
Freshly highlighted letter left just now

The "conversation"


To set the scene: I didn't see or hear him approach, and there weren't any unfamiliar vehicles nearby. It's late afternoon on a Sunday, its pissing down rain and the kids have been driving me insane for the last 6 hours already.
BANGBANGBANG - suddenly theres a stranger in a high-viz shirt with a clipboard peering in through my front door at me, looking impatient and annoyed.

I glanced back at him, checked for signs up blue under his high-viz (aussie police) , detached my son off my arm and set him up with an ipad out of sight of the door so he wouldn't immediately try and sprint outside once he saw me unlock it. I finally opened the door to an exasperated impatient sigh from oldmate.

Me: (through half closed door) "Hi."

Oldmate "Yes Hi I'm here to collect your census forms according to my records we don't have one for this household - do you have your form handy now ?"

Me "Oh I see, No I won't be participating in the census this year."

Oldmate (immediately scowling) "The census is mandatory you'll get a fine for every day you refuse to hand back the forms."

Me: "I don't have or want any form, I have serious privacy concerns with the way the census is being handled this year and I will not be participating."

Oldmate "And you're aware that you will be fined $180 per day until you submit the information ?"

Me "I'm aware that you'll try. I have no reason to participate in this at all, and you have no authority to demand my participation. Plea-"

Oldmate frowns and does a STOP hand signal with one hand whilst pushing his clipboard towards me again to try to make me step back from blocking the door

I gave him a moment of obedience, and cut my sentence short just long enough for him to grin and continue his perceived "power move"

Oldmate "We can and do fine people, if you're refusing to comply I'll need to know your na-"

I mirrored his STOP hand signal abruptly, stepped forwards and began slowly closing the door

Me "You're not listening, I'm not giving you any information. Please leave me and my family alone, you're not welcome here."

And then I calmly closed the door in his stunned looking face

He stood there at my front door for a good 5 minutes, staring in and writing notes in his clipboard before dropping the above letter in my letterbox again anyway.
It was really kinda creepy, I think I pissed him off and he didn't know how to handle it professionally so his brain shutdown for a bit and just stared. In my yard. In the rain.

I just wish I'd managed to get a photo of that face. I'm sure it won't be the last time I see it.

Any doubts about if I was doing the right thing or not dissapeared moments later when I got an ABC Australia breaking news alert:

breakingnewsfb628.png

These are the people I'm supposed to take orders from, and self report to ?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center