Walking with strange people.

Charlie is coming up to four years old now and has built up a wide range of people he sees regularly. For example, stopping at houses and refusing to move until they come out to say "Hello". One of the properties we pass is pretty big with large wrought iron gates. The woman whose parents used to own the property (They've both passed away now) is with (married?) a much younger man. Now they're a lovely couple, but he's a bit strange if you ask me he often says very unusual and private things about himself and his partner, for example, a few weeks ago as Charlie and I arrived at the gates, they were talking to a woman through the gates. "This is my mum," he said proudly. "And that's her partner in the car" the sole occupant of the car was another woman. Now I'm not sure if I was:

    A. Supposed to be shocked?
    B. Supposed to be impressed?
    C. Supposed to make a comment?
Most people would just say, "This is my mum." and leave it at that, but it was the way he was looking at me with a grin on his face.

At the park, we obviously know a lot of dogs and their walkers. Some of the owners I know fairly well, including their names; others are what's known as nodding acquaintances, you know the sort of thing "Morning." "Morning." and you continue walking. There's a woman I've started talking to for the last month or so. I'd say she's late fifties early sixties? I said to her: "I saw your husband walking your dog the other day." OMG, had I unlocked the strange gate or what? She proceeded to blurt out:

"Yes, he's fifteen years younger than me! I was watching Loose Women and they were saying that the latest accessories weren't a handbag or a small dog but a much younger partner, so I divorced my husband, who was fifty and married a toyboy."

I mean, what on earth are you supposed to say to that? Stopping my eyebrows from racing up my forehead and over that back of my skull was hard enough but formulating a mature response to that, out of the blue revelation was nearly impossible. All I could manage was a pathetic: "So long as you're happy." and made my escape quickly. I firmly believe she was deadly serious!

This post has nothing to do with "Younger Partners" there's nothing wrong in that it's the way people tell you things that really they should keep to themselves. You meet some very strange people while walking your dog.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency