Creating a 3D Gallery With DLUX!

Over the past few days, I have been working on a 3D gallery for HIVE. I have been using the Glitch project {DLUX} developed by @markegiles and @disregardfiat for building 3D assets and uploading them to the HIVE blockchain. I created a simple building for housing 2D assets like artwork and photography.

I am basically slowly building my own Cryptovoxels, but for HIVE.

image.png

It all started with a block.

I built a solid black colored block to start building with. I started by measuring out a doorway based on the view from the builder when I walk around. {Obviously you want to be able to walk through the doorway LOL}. 3D galleries look a lot nicer if they are generally close to real life proportions. At least in my opinion. So this is what we are shooting for.

image.png

Here we are at the excellent inspector that @markegiles and @disregardfiat built! I started cloning blocks and using the handles to move them around. Then I stretched blocks into walls.

I built two doorways in one corner of the building. They will lead to more rooms.

image.png
image.png

image.png

At this point, I walked around to see if the walls were the right size. I walked right up to the wall and you can kind of see from the builder point of view that the wall is a good size for 2D assets.

I also walked through the doorways to test them out proportionally. The size seems proper.

image.png

I took a walk around to the other side to see how it looked. It's important to spin your view around when you are building in 3D. Otherwise you might make errors without noticing.

image.png
image.png

image.png

Now that the building is complete, we can add some 2D assets onto the inside walls! I downloaded a few pieces from my nftshowroom account to put into the gallery.

image.png

I downloaded this art piece "Woman holding an Nft" and then uploaded it into the glitch IPFS system and then I moved it onto the wall of the building in the inspector! Then I walked around inside the build to see how it would look inside the VR.

image.png

I uploaded a second art piece. Through the glitch IPFS.... into the inspector... and then onto the wall of the 3D building.

image.png

I started uploading different artworks into the builder.

image.png

The gallery wall looks great with a few pieces hanging next to each other! It needs a few finishing touches like a nice wooden floor, actual doors ... maybe a light fixture ... but still, it's looking very nice. It looks like an actual wall of a building with art hanging up.

image.png

I created a description of the gallery and placed it on the wall. A description of the gallery with the artist name is typical of a real art showing. I thought this was a nice touch.

image.png

There is still a lot of blank wall around the doorways, but ill upload something there soon. For now it will remain blank. Maybe ill make something new for that area.😀📝 There is enough room for a few more art pieces. It's nice to have blank 3D real estate for 2D assets! image.png

On the outside of the building I added the HIVE logo 3 times.

On certain art galleries, you MIGHT get the opportunity to paint a mural on the outside: Like these HIVE logos.

image.png

Notes:

I am NOT publishing this to the HIVE blockchain yet. I want to build more first; plus add a nav mesh.

I'm crossing my fingers here: 😁🤞 But you SHOULD be able to go to https://terrific-holly-reason.glitch.me/ and see the gallery. 🤓 {Keep in mind this is Version 0.1} If something looks weird, I might be in the middle of editing Etc.

If you want to learn more about DLUX, you should join the discord server - - > https://discord.gg/bMeGKfQ. It's a decentralized side chain/DEFI projact and a 3D builder for the HIVE blockchain through Glitch.com.

image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency