Wife Points© - Get Off Your Ass!

I have really been enjoying the posts from our fellow blockchain bloggers detailing their projects, renovations and home improvements. So inspired that I sprung into action and pulled the trigger on a project 8 year in the making.

image.png

Source: Financialmoneytips.com


image.png

Point A+


IMG_9667.jpg

Ladies and gentlemen, this is known as "The Room Furniture Goes To Die." So, you can understand the Wife Points© I had left on the table by avoiding this series of jobs. Wondering what Wife Points© are? After months of undetected foreshadowing, I will rescue and reprise my legendary thesis from the blockchain we will not name!

Before we get started, for fair and equitable point allocation, I must list the tasks that lead up to this Point A.

  • Moving a new wall unit, chair, tables, and a couch a few hundred kilometres (250 miles for my American broheems.)
  • Furniture dump run with old couches
  • Moving all existing furniture to the garage.
  • $200 professional cleaning to remove stains that started accumulating even before we moved in
  • $200 worth of tape, primer, paint, brushes and rollers.

So this is where we start. Dirty windows, dusty light, walls the colour of caramel, well past its expiry date.


image.png

Taping and Prep


IMG_9671 (1).jpg

To me, this is an under-appreciated and often-overlooked part of the job! Seems like this is just getting started but I put in a couple hours of fetching equipment from every corner of the house, and taping every corner of the room. Probably no wife points for this but it plays a huge part in getting to the job well done.


image.png

Primed!


IMG_9672.jpg

The first phase of the actual painting is the priming and it was pause at the borders of the tarp. Truth is time and beer had taken their tole at this point and I was done for the first evening. I am looking at the ghost in the southwest corner and wondering if it thought I was going to leave this in such a mess.


image.png

Painting done

IMG_9675.JPG

I put my head down for 2 more shifts, applied all of the primer and paint over the next day. That damn kight fixture must have taken 2 hours alone to get it taken apart, washed, and 45 minutes alone just to reassemble without fingerprints. I will buy a new one instead next time.


image.png

Point B?


IMG_9676.jpg

Here is a shot similar to the first one with the new colour. I would ask you linger less on the mark of the wooden aquarium stand on the right and instead marvel at the style of my highlight wall in the back! I ALWAYS highlight a wall in a room and was aiming for a shade between the burgundy drapes and the brown of the natural wood for the trim and most of the furniture.


image.png

All Aboard!


IMG_9679.jpg

From the last pic to this one was a couple hours of back-breaking furniture transfer from the garage to the room. Thankfully, the Crossfit and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu made for strong movers so that we didn't have to hire any or share the beer.


image.png

Just About there!


IMG_9680 (1).jpg

Here, we have the approximate final resting place of the next era of furniture that will actually live in our front sitting room. All I cared was that the chair on the left was next to the window that opened so that I could comfortably sit there every morning to watch #themorningbowl and do some Hive curation with my coffee.


image.png

Booyah!


IMG_9728.jpg

Windows clean, art on the walls, and it is a completely new room. @jaynie may recognize the tree now that you can see through the window as it is the one in this shot where we celebrated the matriarch of #powerhousecreatives


image.png

The painting, moving and decorating only took 2.5 days so the first thing I think as I sit in my chair with my coffee is "What took you 8 years?" I hope this inspires you and I to just do what we say we are going to do, intent to do, and need to do. Life is about doing and time spent improving the enjoyment our families get from our homes is time well spent with lingering benefits.

DIY is good content and I would like to see some of your projects.


image.png


zekepickleman.jpg

image.png


I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png


Someone PLEASE link the best DIY group on #Hive!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency