~DIY~ Pool Pump House Made from Pallets ~DIY~

Finally I made it back with another DIY project for my fellow Do-it-Yourself people out there. It’s nothing fancy but it serves a purpose... I think?!?! I am utilizing some old pallets that I get for free from work. I had a nice pile of pallet stock on the side of the house so why not start creating something. I recently got that itch to build something, do you ever have that?? So why not scratch that itch you know what I mean? Wait... so you Scratch an Itch but why don’t you Itch a Scratch???? Ummm nevermind... moving on!!!

I have been meaning to do something to protect my pool pump for a while. Weed-eating the grass around it isn’t fun. Trying to hold the hoses with one foot, balancing on the other and weed-eating... I bet that is a sight to see. Glad it is in privacy of my back yard. Lol. I am always scared I am going to cut a hose or something. That wouldn’t be good!! I needed some type of covering to protect it from the sun and the elements. Plus it just looks kind of... lame sitting there. Just like, “Hey look at me, I’m a pool pump YAY” Um.. how about No

So I finally decided to pull the trigger and I grabbed @lil-splatts to help me make a... house for the pool pump. That is what they call it right?? A pump house?? Pool pump house?? How about a Pool Pump Pallet box enclosure Deleo?? That sounds nice, I will go with that.

bc9n0s4g84.jpg

It’s time to put @lil-splatts to work. Summertime isn’t all about fun and games... well this stuff is fun to me and he seemed to enjoy it too. So I guess it is fun. So much for the whole punishment aspect of this project. Lol Our goal was to create a protective housing for the pool pump. Somehow, someway, something had already broken one of the fittings and I really don’t want anything else broken. :cough:Dang:cough:Kids:cough Plus by building an enclosure for the pump it should help keep it out of the weather prolong its lifespan and prevent me from hitting the hoses with the weed-eater. That sun can really do some damage to the plastic hoses and fittings. It turns them really brittle really fast.

First thing we needed to do was build a solid frame around the pump. After taking some measurements and discussing how we were going to put it together @lil-splatts started marking the 2x4’s, as I got the chop saw all set up and ready to make some cuts. Of course he had to get in the pool first to get cooled down and ready to work.

i1li99rj3k.jpg

You would be really surprised what kind of good wood you can get from old pallets. These 2x4’s were all solid and in great shape, perfect for a solid frame for the pump enclosure, house, box, deleo.

We couldn’t just build the whole box and drop it over the top since there were hoses hooked to the pool. Ya, I could have plugged them and disconnected all the hoses and blah blah blah I figured it would add a bit of a challenge when building it. Also I was trying to encourage my son to think “outside” the box...

atydz1rka3.jpg

Now that we have the frame built, it was time to cover the sides. I have a good stock pile of wood from a bunch of pallets we tore apart. So @lil-splatts and I loaded up the Gorilla Cart with a bunch of planks.

df9b3vwz89.jpg

Next it was time to get out the air stapler and let the little man get to work attaching the planks to the sides of the box. I was doing the cutting on the chop saw and he was letting the staples fly... wait no, not fly, that wouldn’t be good. He was attaching them as fast as I could cut them. Great team work!!

8h273c49m6.jpg

Don’t worry, just after taking this photo I was like... WHOA WHOA WHOA get some safety glasses on boy!! Gee Wizz!!! What the heck kind of ship do you think I am running around here??

Alright now that we got that safety issue resolved we needed to keep putting the sides on the pump house. A few of the boards needed to be notched out so I could access the hose connections and the on/off switch for the pump. I made them oversized you there was plenty of room to get your whole hand inside.</div<

j2ohurugzq.jpg

doxvt4h8f0.jpg

I really like the look of things made out of pallets. I am not sure if it is the difference in colors between the planks or what. But either way I am a huge fan of this look. Oh ya, by the way I finally filled one of my planter boxes I made a while back.

fueh7omsh4.jpg

What do you guys think? Does it look good?? I’m going to be filling up the other one also but with a different center flower. Wait sorry getting a little off topic here. Focus... Focus

After we got all the sides put on it is really looking nice. Considering all the material was free that made it that much nicer wink:wink. Also it was time for @lil-splatts to get some more swimming in, I guess...

359leqqhgu.jpg

So he abandoned me and left me fend for myself and build a lid. I had a few hinges in one of my miscellaneous parts coffee cans and a handle also. See there is a reason I keep all those random things. The plan was to build the lid and make a sort of kick-stand that will hold it up so you don’t have to hold it. Plus you wouldn’t have to worry about it smashing you in the head. This is a actually really simple to do.

After constructing the lid I attached a scrap piece to the side of the main supports for the lid. Don’t tighten the screw all the way down. We want this stick to be able to swing somewhat freely. By attaching it to the main frame of the lid will make sure that it won’t just fall off and it will be able to handle the weight.

e7nai78xlo.jpg

Then you just need to attach a block for the stick to rest on. Again make sure this is attached to something solid.

wrqyefzabq.jpg

Kick-Stand Installed

u12upy5mbt.jpg

Then it is this easy to lower it down. It can be done with one hand. How sweet is that?

CAFE54B2-7A4B-4FA3-BB8E-0EB27E889405.gif

And just like that we have a nice looking box to protect the pool pump along with a fancy self supporting lid. Along with complete access to all the valves and hoses.

3dhtq35scl.jpg
That looks soo much better than this, in my opinion.
s9jgqqxe3h.jpg
Doesn’t it??

I really hope you all enjoyed another DIY project done by your DIY Guy Splatts. I have been slackin’ on my DIY stuff lately but trust me there is a good reason. Stay tuned my gears are turning and I am brainstorming another project.

Until next time...
Steem On

8628FA63-C5D5-44DB-88EE-452DB98550C4.gif
Steem On
and
zwtr1f3v75.jpg
Some call it trash
I call it material
2A8E5EA3-896C-48D8-ADD3-62C820E1B247.gif
D880665B-863E-4459-83AC-2B16E6992DBB.gif
6BE164FF-F560-424E-84C4-06E56C01E51A.gif
Don’t forget to mention @splatz when you encounter a post that deserves a good Splattin’ by the @splatz trail
08307C21-8273-4989-8DCD-A2552CCC7CB0.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency