What would you want from me in return for crowdfunding my DEFCON trip?

Untitled.png

I am planning to attend DEFCON 29 this August

DEFCON 29 link

What will I be doing?

Most pf my time will be spent in the following...

  • Crypto & Privacy village
    The CPV features talks on a wide range of crypto and privacy topics, including GDPR, domain fronting, and privacy education
  • Social Engineer Village
    https://www.social-engineer.org/
  • Recon Village
    The core objective of this village is to spread awareness about the importance of reconnaissance, open source intelligence (OSINT) and demonstrating how even a small information about a target can cause catastrophic damage to individuals and organizations.
  • DroneWarz Village
    DroneWarz drone hacking games and challenges are designed for harnessing innovation and having fun with UAV emerging technologies
  • BCOS/Monero Village
    I have been studying the Monero coin as best I can this last month (see Negative Outcomes below).

The Monero project is a privacy ecosystem which consists of the Monero core team, Monero research lab, Monero hardware team, Kovri, Openalias, and several other projects and work groups. The village presents technology serving privacy-conscious novice and advanced cryptocurrency users, inviting participation in a well-equipped and comfortable environment.
The Blockchain & Cryptocurrency Open Security Village (BCOS) is an effort to create a thriving community to make blockchain technology & cryptocurrencies more secure, robust and trustable. As they say at DEFCON, it takes a village to raise security level of any technology. The BCOS future is great, lets secure it.

Village data is based on the DEFCON 26 village page. Since 29 will be a hybrid of off-site and on=site activities (see Negative Outcomes below), I don't know which events will be virtual.

I'm assuming that these Villages will be present this year, b/c the call for Villages has already closed. In any case, these are the areas I'll be exploring via Workshops and Presentations.

  • I am considering giving a Workshop or Presentation about the importance of the intelligence process in relation to the type of activities that DEFCON encompasses (too bad I won't have taken the Cyber and the Intelligence Cycle course in my program by then).

Crow(HIVE)funding

I can make the trip w/o help, but it will be a hindrance to other activities not involved w/ DEFCON. I will be indulging myself in food and female company, as well. If I'm going to be asking you for money, then I better be damn transparent to what I'm going to be using it for, ne?

I'll talk about what I can do in the next section.

ItemExpense Estimate
Hotel for the weekabout $1000
Airline Ticketabout $240
Food for weekabout $500 (about 60/day)
Soiled Dovesabout $300/pop (no min/max on # of pops)
Other entertainment (shows, etc)about $500 (about 60/day)
Taxiabout $200(idk w/o looking into shuttles)

So about $2200 in total, not counting HappyFunTime w/ soiled doves, or whether I'll even need a taxi in the first place (like having two seminars on the other side of the strip). Also, I won't be drinking heavily anyhow, so I rolled booze into food. I don't plan on gambling.

delete.jpg
We don't want to see this, Party Steve, now do we?
No, Hivefunders, no we don't

What would you like to see in return?

I will be summarizing the con here on HIVE, regardless of crowdfunding. For a sample of this, here are my summaries of the Global Block Builders conference in 2019:
@stevescoins/global-block-builders-conference-day-one-overview-part-one
@stevescoins/global-block-builders-conference-day-one-overview-part-two
@stevescoins/global-block-builders-conference-the-space-presentations

so, IF you were to crowdfund a portion of this trip,what would you like in turn? Would my summaries alone be worth it? Would you want something for the HIVE community, or would you want personal return? Do you think I should set up a tier system of rewards?

some options, but I am fishing for feedback overall:

  • pick up some swag
  • push HIVE/Peakd as a blockchain option? (I'm not a good socializer, to be honest)
  • attend & summarize a specific presentation?

What about donation options?
I'm fine with HIVE, HP, or SBI shares(see @steembasicincome); also BTC or XMR (Monero), although I'd prefer XMR

Negative Outcomes

Shit happens. If shit happened that prevented my trip, I would return the donation. What kind of shit could happen?

  • this &(*(&%&* arm. I have dropped 3/4 of my last classes. My posts suck in quality these days. I do not follow up on tasks. this is the best post I've done in a loooong time, and it took a lot of time. hopefully,the VA will have done something useful for my arm by ten.
  • more covid quackery
  • I could be on a no-fly list (domestic white male insurrectionist oppressor bla bla bla) I contemplated Amtrack for the trip, but the last leg is a 4 hour bounce from LA

Battle Plan

My crowdfunding outreach hasn't started yet; this is a brainstorming and feedback post.

I'll have an "official" crowdfunding appeal up by May 15, if not sooner. Your suggestion might solidify a plan before then.

Also, if you're going as well, hit me up here to coordinate

Thanks for your feedback in advance!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency