My STORJ (St💿rage Node): February

I have been running a demo node for experimental reasons that I will share with the public.

My Storage Node Stats ✔️

k5dfjo.png

This month is shorter than the previous month. But on the other hand we are on a leap year. Today is 29 February! The year has 1 more day than usual, 366 days instead of the usual 365. The next time I post about this day, hopefully will be in 6 years 🤣.

This month I had no major downtime and I have actually now got a UPS supporting the PC, which should take care of intermittent power cuts (not usual anyway).

My worst uptime check is 91.8% and my best 94.4% (not counting with the new satellite that just arrived, where I have 99.9%). Sometime in the future, I hope to have some quick way of getting notified about downtime changes, so that the host owner can quickly correct them in the future.

Uploads went drastically down!

From 145.52 GB in January to 7.30 GB in February. This way less that I was anticipating and I can only think it was due a possible experimentation that has now ended.

From now on, I would expect either for the amount to maintain or grow, if for the same amount of hosted data.

Disk space consumption

Overall it kept increasing along the month, from the previous 604.10 GB free space, I have now 561.87 GB and in some recent days in time, I even got less than that. This probably means the market is still quite volatile (and that's normal) at the moment and demand is most probably temporary for each case the network gets.

Downloads keep increasing...

Looking like it is stabilizing at least with all this frenzy of the Corona Virus. But it went up from 258.06 GB to 342.00 GB! That's an increase of 75%, which reflects the stable and increased disk space being used on the node.

Latest updates

To start with, there is a new satellite (saltlake.tadigrade.io) from where I got around 4.26 GB of traffic already.

Even having above 99% of it as ingress traffic, I still expect it to start punching some more uploads as soon as the user base of that one increases.

More satellites will probably continue to appear as user base requirements increase. This will also increase the resilience of the customer base services and the ability to perform maintenance while not suffering from major performance on the data sources.

In addition to the new node, we have also several changes on the code, the UI (way more pretty now) and tons of fixes to bugs. The overall experience of running this node is quite positive (especially because I am running it on windows).

6fwmgd.png

My thoughts...

I wonder if having a specialized client for cell phones would be something to explore. I mean, there are TONS of them, and if each spares 1GB of space, with the huge network add-on, it would certainly increase the performance/resilience of the network. Would probably require the replicas to increase drastically, but would be something I would consider, especially at first stage and when data needs somehow to have locality.

After the initial build up, networks like these should slowly migrate to big providers. Increasing the storage capacities around the world and lowering the costs of maintaining the network.

How much DID I GOT 🤑 paid?

I need to wait a few days for the payment to get in as usual, but I will let you know (by updating this post) as soon as it kicks in and I am able to share it.

PAYMENT (Funds received on 2020-03-09)

Huge increase compared with last month... +50% increase.
7o5wde.png

Let's see the next month... ⏳

This month was less exciting but still a great experience. Like I said, so far all great. If you have questions, checkout the Forum or the Blog section. Both have been quite useful to me. If you are looking for documentation on how to set up a node, then check the documentation page.

Disclaimer: If you don't like to see this kind of posts, please let me know so I can understand if the effort is worth it. I don't intend to massacre the network with them and my sole intention is to provide additional and personal feedback of my own evaluations/reviews.

eSteem Footer Line

info@esteem.app
eSteem.app | GitHub | YouTube
Telegram | Discord

Posted with eSteem

Check these Cryptocurrency 💳Cards

Crypto.comCrypteriumTenXRevolutWirex

by @forykw

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency