This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

The Daily Bread 0019: Have mercy oh god

Psalm 51

Commentary

The proper way to react after recognizing that one has sinned, is how David reacted when the prophet Nathan made him acknowledge his sin with regard to Bathsheba, the wife of Uriah the Hittite. His unlawful relationship with this woman and the death of Uriah the Hittite was something that stifled the reign of David, but the humiliation with which David humbled himself was accepted to God, even though in any case the son conceived with Betsabe died. The magnitude of David's sin (fornication, adultery, murder, premeditation, treachery, lying, etc.) not only shows how low a man can (even if it is God's) to come down, but also shows the infinite of God's mercy. No one but God would forgive or tolerate such action, but not in vain does he say the word Psalm 103: 11 For as the height of the heavens upon the earth, his mercy increased above them that fear him. Truly the mercy of God is great, we must only be sincere in our repentance, and God will be ready to offer us mercy. The Bible tells us that it is convenient for us to do Job 34:31 Surely it is fitting that it should be said to God, I have taken punishment, I will no longer offend; This is to recognize that we have sinned and not only this but to separate ourselves and not to offend any more. This David did and found mercy because his sin deserved death as punishment, but God extended mercy to him as a result of his humiliation.

Psalm 51
1 Have mercy on me, O God, according to your mercy;
In accordance with the multitude of your mercies erase my rebellions.
2 Wash me more and more from my iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin.
3 For I acknowledge my transgressions, and my sin is always before me.
4 Against thee, I have sinned against thee, and done evil in thy sight; So that you may be recognized just in your word,
And it was pure in thy judgment.
5 Behold, I was formed in iniquity, and in sin did my mother conceive me.
6 Behold, you love the truth in the inmost, and in the secret you have made me understand wisdom.
7 Purify me with hyssop, and I will be clean; Wash me and I'll be whiter than snow.