A Dash of Sult N Papper 04/14/20> Today started it for me… I’m done.

image.png

Exactly when will…

Exactly when will people decide that enough is enough of these government restrictions and get back to running their lives as ‘normal’? I spoke with a friend of mine who lives near the Texas / Mexico border, on the Texas side of it, last evening about that very question.

He told me that in the county where he lives in it is now against the law to be out of your house without an “’approved” mask covering your nose & mouth. If you are caught without such mask it is a $1,000.00 fine. That same county now has a 24 hour curfew for minors and they must stay inside at their own place where they reside at.

This is guzbucking...

This is guzbucking America folks; this shit has got to stop if you expect to ever be able to say “land of the free and home of the brave” again and really believe in those words. I’ve wrote about civil disobedience recently, and the need for it, if “push were to come to shove” and I believe that time has come, at least for me it has.

I decided shortly...

I decided shortly after lunch today to just go for ride nearby and see what is taking place in my area. Well, I am glad I did.

Other than long lines at the drive thru of most banks and fast food places things seem to be somewhat normal. Not completely normal but I can tell you that plenty of folks are out and about here with no facial coverings and businesses that aren’t deemed “essential” are open in some cases.

The local golf...

The local golf club was packed with cars and the golf course was open for business. I managed to snap a few photos with my phone just to document it for you.

They aren’t the best photos by any means; but I’ve never claimed to a “photographer”. Even the girl that has the “beverage cart” was out making her rounds about the golf course making sure the golfers could purchase beverages and snacks.

I also went...

I also went and paid my youngest daughter’s cell phone bill and walked in and paid cash. Here again; there was some glass separating me from the clerk, but at least they took my “legal tender” and didn’t make me pay with a plastic card.

No face mask on the employee and no rule about number of people in the store at one time as far as I could see, and to me that is a good thing. Let the people decide for them on if 3 or 6 or more is too many for their comfort level, if it is you could always come back later or wait outside until you “feel comfortable”.

Seeing how this...

Seeing how this is springtime here there is yellow pollen everywhere and my truck had a pretty thick coating on it. I pay a monthly fee at local car wash so I can get a car wash everyday if I desire one. Well, I desired one today and to my surprise it was indeed open for business.

I guess I...

I guess I must not know the definition of “essential businesses” because the last things I expected on my short trip around my area was the golf course and the car wash to be open.

I could see the mobile phone place being open because people need to be able to communicate and all the other things one can do with a “smart phone”.

On the other...

On the other hand; I might know the definition, but some of my fellow Texans may have already decided “enough is enough” like those running the golf course and car wash.

Maybe those folks decided they weren’t going to let the local tyrants force them to stay closed and end up bankrupting their businesses without a fight.

Never in my lifetime have I seen local elected officials have this much “power and authority” as I have seen recently and I think it has gone to some of their heads in a “bad way” if you will.

One thing I...

One thing I have learned is that once elected folks get power they have a hard time giving it up. I think that may be in play already here in Texas and the USA.

What I saw today might very well be the start of displays of civil disobedience by store and business owners, and myself for that matter, because I am done with staying home.

My employers don't...

My employers don’t want me out making “business calls” right now and I’ll respect their wishes since they are keeping me employed at full salary.

One thing is for certain is that when I’m not on a webinar or conference call I’ll be out and about looking for businesses that I can support with my patronage.

Tomorrow I’m going to go see if I can find a barber shop that is open and a dry cleaner shop. I could use a good haircut and I have some Wrangler jeans and dress shirts that could use a dry cleaning along with that heavy starch that you can damn near stand your jeans straight up without having your legs in them.

If by chance...

If by chance I see a beer joint open you can also bet I stop in for beer as well. Even though I rarely ever would do that in “normal” times since I don’t believe in “drinking and driving”.

Not that one beer would put me over the legal limit, I just don’t like the hassle that would come with a cop deciding to stop me for some bogus reason and then smell beer on my breath. That is like throwing a raw steak in front of my boxer dog and then expecting her not to chew on it. When cops smell beer they also smell opportunity.

So my civil...

So my civil disobedience has officially started today and will continue going forward. I have had enough already.

People can still use reasonable care and social distance if they want too , but it should be the person’s decision to make; not some local official who has let their power go to their head like has happened around here and that has really happened down in south Texas where my friend lives.

So what do you say, have you had enough? What are things like where you are located?

Until next time,
Sult

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency