Does Your Passion Keep You Awake at Night?

PassionAwake.png

This question comes from conversations I have had with my father recently.
Last weekend when my sister was here to take him to get his eye surgery she told us that she wanted to host for Thanksgiving Dinner at her house in Madison this year. Yay! She wanted to do it last year but COVID screwed that up.

We had that discussion on Saturday during the day and Dad was literally awake most of that night thinking about decorating at my sister’s house for Thanksgiving that was five weeks away. Now it’s only four, but still. This morning Dad was asking me about placemats for the table settings and how he has this color and that color but they’re too heavy or something. And I asked him what he was even talking about. He couldn’t believe that I didn’t know he was talking about Thanksgiving decorations. He saw some placemats that my cousin had on the table yesterday when we were there for the birthday party. He asked me if I had seen them and I was like, Oh yeah they were nice. He notices everything. Bless his heart. My only frustration is that he thinks that people just think about stuff all the time like he does. Well, actually one of my cousins, his neice, is a florist and into decorating and very creative. The photo below is just one example from Thanksgiving 2009.

100_1681.jpg

Today Roy’s daughter is coming up for dinner and for him to put new wiper blades on her car and a new air filter in. Stuff that costs too much at the dealer and he can actually do himself more economically. My Dad was asking me this morning what plates I wanted to use to set the table. I had to tell him that I hadn’t even given it any thought. I managed to get some prep done for our dinner. But decorating and table settings? Martha Stewart I am not. I used to watch some of those shows on the Food Network and wonder how in the heck they came up with all those decorating ideas after coming up with the recipes, etc. My mind just doesn’t go there at all. He is handling the table setting for this evening because that is his thing.

My parents used to entertain, ALOT! They would plan the menu together and prep and Dad would work on the decorations and Mom had the timing down for how when everything had to go in the oven or on the stove for the meal to come together perfectly. And they had it timed so well that they had a half an hour to themselves before their guests got there so they could relax and have a drink together. Now that is some kind of time management. I love crockpots.

So, back to my question. Do you have a passion for something that keeps you awake at night? Let me know in the comments what it is that you can’t stop thinking about.

Have a great rest of your Sunday!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency