Fun with Languages: German, Norwegian, Italian, and French

smallface.jpg
Now that another of my kids is back at work (thank you God!) I have been providing some transportation. Sometimes she has to stay a bit late or run an errand, so I wanted to find a way to redeem the time in the car, parked and waiting. I discovered some free language apps for my Kindle Fire tablet and got the same app, "Learn ____ 6000 Words", in 4 different languages. Here is what I have learned so far, after starting each at the beginning and working through a few lessons:

German: My pronunciation skills always need more practice. I don't sound anything like the native speaker on the app. I took German in high school and college, including scientific translation, but am nowhere near fluent. I can read or watch a movie, but want to get much better.

Norwegian: Not as similar to German as I expected, but still not too hard to pick up some basic vocabulary. No previous experience except watching the Ragnarok series in Norwegian with English subtitles.

Italian: I find it downright musical, and decided I wanted to learn some Italian after watching Medici on Netflix. I can roll an r, which is helpful. I did have some experience singing in Latin, but not specifically in Italian.

French: I haven't got a prayer when it comes to spelling or pronouncing French, but I think I could learn to read it. Possibly understand it when spoken, but not sure. The sounds all seem to blur together when I hear the speaker on the app. No experience, although one of my sisters started college as a French major and my daughters all took some in high school.

I have put the link for one of the apps below--just follow it and look for the language you want to check out. Comment and let me know what you think. No affiliation, just free fun.

Link to German app

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency