This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

How To Recover Expanse Coins Sent To The Wrong Network

cover.png

Yesterday I decided to be stupid and so I sent a good stash of EXP coins to an Ethereum Network. For those who do not know Expanse is a token that forked the Ethereum network and created its own. The address is the good ol' 0x.... aka ERC-20 token and pretty much follows the same rules.

Nonetheless, the Expanse network functions on its own network, not the ethereum one. So if you send Expanse tokens to an Ethereum network address then you won't be able to see your tokens. Even if you add the token as (LAB) it will indicate an invalid ERC-20 token error.

To make things even trickier, I sent my coins to a trezor wallet, meaning I had no electronic version of MEW (Myetherwallet) and so I could not load the wallet to an Expanse wallet and use my keys. I had to go commando on the Ethereum network and recover them. 9/10 of people I asked told me this would be hopeless since it is an entirely different network and the token has no place in the Ethereum one.

After I played for a while with the settings, I discovered that if I chose from the upper right hand side of the myetherwallet.com page the setting to first log in using the Expanse network, I can then load up my ethereum address with the tokens being intact! This was to my great surprise since it means that the Expanse tokens are immutable in regards to the Ethereum network and just reside there on a special place much like all ERC-20 tokens.

Without further adue here is a step by step tutorial for those who accidentally send Expanse tokens to an Ethereum network address.

exp-1.png


exp-2.png


exp-3.png


exp-4.png


exp-5.png


exp-6.png




Happy recovering