How I fell in love with BITG


How I fell in love with BITG

Ever since my father has heard about blockchain in December 2017, he is interested into mining and staking his own coins. He often asks for my advice about a random low cap coin, is it worth mining/staking, is it worth investing into it, does it have a future etc. So one day he drops "Bitcoin Green" on me. And I laugh. Bitcoin. Green. Come on, there is just one Bitcoin. Everyone knows that anything else sharing the name Bitcoin is a shitcoin. Then he shows me his staking pool and how well the Bitcoin Green he accumulated from a faucet is staking. So I get curious and dig deeper into this Bitcoin Green thingy. I check the marketcap. Seems pretty small but it should be big enough it doesn't just come crashing down on him. I check the website. Hmmm, eco-friendly, we all know how big of a deal the topic is today in the world and all the issues with the wasted Bitcoin mining energy. I've been mining my first BTCs years ago but eventually gave up due to the electricity consumption which is not very favorable in my country so I know the pain. I check the roadmap. Whoah, lots of activity planned ahead. The team has a vision! And the more I read about the project, the more I get interested. I read through the whitepaper, I check the tech behind it, I check the PoS, and eventually I decide to try it out for myself. So I end up buying my first BITG share. It was only a beginning.

I wrote this story to show you how can a first impression be very misleading and wrong. I'll tell you why Bitcoin Green is a project worth of your time and investment.

Bitcoin Green

Bitcoin Green is, as the name suggests, an ecologically friendly alternative to Bitcoin. It helps saving the mining wasted energy by running on a Proof-of-Stake algorithm. It also offers a more scalable and faster blockchain with lower fees suitable for daily transactions. So there's that. You can read more about BITG here, it's a great in-depth article about the project, written by user musicayfarandula. Go check it out and I will focus on some other aspects which might be more attractive to investors.

BITG is backed by a fantastic team and community

  • BITG is among the most active masternode (PoS) coins when it comes to Github repository commits, according to a study done by Omni Analytics Group.
  • Check out the roadmap, big plans for the project ahead to keep it one of the most up-to-date and relevant cryptocurrencies.
  • What I noticed this year is a lot of the blockchain projects in general have stopped communicating with their communities or have very limited involvement which is really frustrating. BITG team is writing The Green Report series, which is a weekly progress report to keep the community informed on recent developments. On top of their other involvement with the community, ofcourse.
  • The Roots Network Bounty program, a community-based awareness campaign rewarding you, me, anyone passionate about Bitcoin Green's mission. One of the hidden gems is the new official merch store. You order a BITG shirt and the team will reimburse your purchase by sending equivalent value in BITG to your wallet. How cool is that!? Can't wait to start rocking my BITG hoodie which I ordered last week!
  • Philantrophy of the BITG project and Bitcoin Green Foundation which was created to teach about cryptocurrencies and bring alternatives to energy wasting proof-of-work algorithms awareness. Just last week 467 trees were planted, where 250 of them were sponsored by BITG donations.

BITG has a low marketcap

I'm always very sceptical of a lower cap coins but as I mentioned in the introduction, while it is a low cap coin compared to the top 10, it is also a big enough cap to consider it a solid project. For the past half of the year the cap is stable and when you take a look at today's drop in BTC price, you can see that BITG handled the FUD very well. 

The price has a solid support ranging between 0.00022 and 0.00025 BTC if you check the past couple of months. Small marketcap in this case just means that the project is very underrated. Imagine BITG getting listed on more exchanges in the future, the cap and price can easily double or triple over night! Keep in mind BITG ATH is 7-times the current price of the coin.

Bitgex

Which brings me to another great upcoming catalyst for the coin. Bitgex will be the first Proof-of-Stake exchange, backed by BITG project. It means you will be able to keep your coins at the exchange and still get your staking rewards. The primary trading pair will be BITG, creating a whole new market for the coin and drastically increasing the market liquidity as currently BITG is listed on several smaller exchanges, Cryptopia being the biggest one. Bitgex is already accepting user registrations and community votes for coins to be listed on the exchange. The team is planning to get Bitgex fully functional by the end of 2018! Hint, when that happens, it can boost the BITG price up, wink, wink.

Staking

So I finally come to the staking part (ka-ching!). CoinGecko featured BITG as a top 20 Masternode coin in their Q3 report:

With BITG, 85% of the block rewards go to masternodes. You require 2500 BITG coins to run your own masternode. Current ROI is over 100 %. If I give you some actual numbers: by running 1 MN you will get approx. 215 BITG monthly and 2600 annually. Pretty cool return, if you ask me. Basically anyone can stake BITG. At the moment over 72% of the coins are locked in MN which gives you the idea. If you can't afford to host an entire MN on your own, you can join one of the staking pools and get a slot there. Or alternatively stake BITG from your wallet, though the rewards are smaller. You can also wait for Bitgex to go fully live and stake your coins there. Just don't wait for too long, or you might miss getting your BITG at this sweet price!


Go check out the project yourself and if you decide to join the BITG train, I promise you, you won't be sorry. The time to load up on Bitcoin Green is now!


More about BITG Project:

Website: https://www.savebitcoin.io/

ANN: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2827989.0

Medium: https://medium.com/bitcoin-green

Twitter: https://twitter.com/btc_green

Discord: https://discordapp.com/invite/QaPjqff

Github: https://github.com/bitcoingreen


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now