The Crossfit Games Open 2018 - week 2

image

This week we have a quick burner, for time:
1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10 reps of
Dumbbell squat
Bar facing burpee

To be completed inside a 12 minute window. Any time remaining is to be used to find a 1 rep max clean as a separately scored event.

I have to say I love the format of this workout. Last time we had a 1rm event was in 15.2 and 15.2A, but that one ended up with teams having their strongest lifters just make a token effort on the first part I order to do a 1RM while fresh. This year you need to move pretty fast if you want to have a chance to make some lifts. You also get pre-fatigued in your legs, making the clean a lot harder. The pros in last nights announcement missed lifts at least 10-15% below their normal maxes because of this.

The bar facing burpee is one of my weaknesses, even more now with the new standards, so I don’t have very high expectations for my own performance this week. The goal is just to get in and finish the workout and hopefully land a decent clean in the end.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now