Talent is a myth;)


}

Hi, guys!

Since Friday is my day off today I won't share any new drawings, but I still want to talk a bit (and I hope it won't be a long-read).

Of course I feel much more comfortable creating a new post when I have something graphical to share, but well, today I think I'll deal without it. I just want to write some about what artists suffer from:)

I have a blog here, and a blog on Instagram, where I get much more comments and feedback, than I have here on Hive. And you know, what most annoying comments are? "You're so talented". (Second place -what a great background you have on this pic. Usually I actually don't draw any background, focusing on the main object, so background is usually some chaotic brush spots in digital version and colorful watercolor splashes when it comes to traditional art).

But still. Talent. Let's discuss:)

Why is that annoying and why it's not a compliment?

It seems to me like most people think that you've got to be talented from the very beginning to draw. Or to sing. Well, in first case you have to have hands and brain, in second - brain and voice. Everything that will happen after you got these two points depends on you and only on you. Of course we all start at different spots, but in the end - most talented one will be the person, who did put most effort in development his start skills. When it comes to artists everyone expect one to be skillful from the very start. It looks like "You're not an artist if you can't draw that thing". or worse, when a kid wants to become one, his/hers parents say "You don't have any talent".

Let's look from other side. When a first year medical student comes to university does anyone say "You don't have talent for heart surgery"? Or worse - "If you can't make a heart surgery right now - you'll never become a doctor, you have no talent"?. No one does. Cause he/she must learn first.

Artist needs to learn first as well, just like in any other profession. It takes time, it takes practice. Than may be he will be a genius artist, may be not, it will also take time to find out, but in any case one will have to put time and effort in development first.

When this person finally gets to some point where he can do something, where he can draw fine pictures - everyone start saying "Oh, it's talent!". Forgetting about all the practice, and sometimes even forgetting about their own words they said years ago like "You have no talent". Sounds fair? No, as for me.

Sure I have other types of comments, that are triggers personally for me, but this "talent" thing triggers 99% of us. Be gentle to your artist;)

See you in the next post!

Love, Inber

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency