Pearls And A Tan


Pearls And A Tan!



This is Chapter 6 of BLUE'S DREAM.
To catch up, read the FIRST CHAPTER

Months Later...

It was months later, now... I spent that whole summer, taking my small boat, the Blue Ranger, out on weekly trips. Overnight first, a weekend, then a week. And for much of the spring and summer, there she was, walking the beach, or on the jetty at the harbor. She'd smile and wave at me, as I came home to port. I missed the smile. After months of seeing her, one day, she wasn't there. And the next, and the entire week following. Soon, she was a mere memory.

Fast forward, months later, and I had sold my last boat, and my big house. I moved into a simple, small 3 bedroom tiny single floor home. AND, I made the biggest purchase I have ever, in my life. My Nordhavn. A Nordhavn 51, Hull #14. That means the 51 Foot model, and the 14th one built. I'll describe her later, the months working with the builders to outfit and finish her. And, the first week with her. The week I spent with the Fleet Delivery Captain, who takes you through classes, learning all of the systems. Over the course of the months building her, I had seen her, and worked with some of the systems, but the delivery week is an intense, learning course, on maintenance, on repair, and on the day to day of driving the boat, maneuvering, and docking, motoring, anchoring and living aboard. Some I have learned, and some I am sure I will read and watch the videos again.

It was a week later, after the classes, and the Christening Ceremony, where Blues Dreams was born, that I thought I saw her again, but, on closer inspection, no... it was someone similar. Not that mystery woman. I had set off from my favorite harbor, for a two day motor up the coast, to the big City of San Francisco. I intended, after a few weeks on the West Coast, to continue, during the summer months to Vancouver, and on up into Alaska. It was one of my Dreams to see Alaska, on my own Boat. On my Own Time.

I had a friend, in the area, who invited me up to his little marina, about 30 minutes north of San Fran. I planned a few nights in the marina, buying food, and getting ready for a longer two week trip, with my new boat, up to Seattle. Another friend lived outside Seattle on board a 38 foot sailboat. So, my plan this week was mostly about getting ready for my next plan, which was another visit. In Seattle, I would map out my trip to Vancouver, and points in Alaska.

Up in the big raised Pilot house, I turned hard to starboard (that's right) and moved into the channel to the small marina. Once clear of the rock seawall, protecting the harbor, I turned hard to port (that's left)! I cut her speed from cruising of 9 knots, to back around 5 knots, and made my way towards the transient dock. As I approached, I grabbed the radio and called Marina Control.

"Renew Point Marina, Renew Point Marina, this is Blues Dream, calling."

Shortly after, they answered, and directed me to tie up at a dock for temporary stays. Well, I have been boating my entire life, little dinghies to bigger boats, from 6 feet, to 17, to 25, to 31, and I had been docking and driving this boat for two solid weeks, but this was the first time I would be docking Blues Dream alone. I admit it, I was nervous.

Whenever a bigger boat comes to port, it's a sight. Blues Dream was a beautiful Trawler, brand new, and gleaming. Her size alone would draw attention, but her smooth lines, her curves, and the raised deckhouse's raked windows draw attention. A small group gathered to see her dock and tie up. It happens. I've been spectator too many times to count and yet, here I was in the other side, actually doing all the moves, and hoping NOT to hit anything too hard and scrape my brand new baby girl.

Little taps of the bow and stern thrusters, no winds and I was gently kissing the dock in no time. I giggled as I realized I was lucky. I looked like I was a 50 year vet of the boat, not two weeks in! I tossed my lines out, and tied up. I came down off the decks to the back transom, and locked the boat for the day. When checking into a new marina, its best to tie up, lock up and head to the office to pay.

I accepted a few compliments, and talked briefly with a few other owners, who had many questions about Blues Dream. A shorter woman, wearing pearls, a few kids, bouncing energy, and running up and back on the docks. Some young teens, and few 20 somethings, with a beer in hand. This one older gent kept asking about the Nordhavn, seems he had one of the first Nordhavn Motorsailers; a sleek sailboat/trawler hybrid, that also had a decent trawling motor. A few others were asking and I saw some, with envy in their eyes. In the back, that woman, wearing a set of pearls never visible to me. I made an offer of a cocktail hour tour, later, and many agreed to bring a drink round for the tour. I had heard it was thing: invite others and they usually bring a gift or bottle for the new boat. As the group started to break up, I saw her in the back of the pack.

I know that smile, I know that wave. I know the cinnamon hair, and the tanned shoulders. String of pearls, stark white in contrast to the deep luscious tan of her skin. Her eyes met mine and we smiled at each other. Others had started moving away... I stepped forward and right up to her.

"It's YOU!" I practically screamed. She smiled, and put her hand to her chest, and touched the pearls. "What happened? What are you doing all the way up here in San Fran? Where did you go? How are you? I missed seeing you wave, what happened...? " Each time I asked a question she started to talk, and I blurted out another question before she could answer, "Wait, what's your name?"

This is for a daily FREEWRITE, with @MarianneWest.

Image From Pixabay

Previous Chapters

Ch. 5 The Whole Shebang!
Ch. 4 Peals Of Laughter
Ch. 3 I Can't Help Falling In Love
Ch. 2 All Curves, and a Dream
Ch. 1 Navigating Life With Dad



This post is an entry into MarianneWest's 5 Minute Freewrite!
I feel I cheated somewhat, as I went well over the 5 Minute... but,
I adhere to the spirit... sit down and write. Let it flow.
Anyone can enter, check out her link and Let your inner creative self WRITE!


Always, I strive to give back

To the animals and birds around me

to put more plants in than I take out

And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.
Story first published by me, on On Uptrennd




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency