Getting together more

Hello Hive friends,

The COVID19 posts continue... I do feel like things are changing and people are more willing and able to be with each other which is wonderful!

Arizona or Maricopa county (where I live) lifted the face mask ban this month. It didn't really change too much for me, as the places I go-- work at ASU, church, grocery shopping, eating out all still want people wearing face masks.

Two friends of mine graduated from university and so I took them to eat. You can see in in the pictures below in one picture we are not wearing our masks after dinner and the other we are. That is how I feel things are going, sometimes I feel the effects of COVID and sometimes I don't.


There are a lot more gatherings and I love it!


At the same time things like my students thesis defenses are still happening online. Graduations around the country, including ASU, are still mostly online too.

I am still seeing Face Mask signs


And to get an in patient procedure at the hospital I have to have COVID19 testing a couple of days before.

I can feel the shift and it is exciting. I do have some worries about what travel will look like in the future, especially international travel. For right now I will enjoy each day as it comes.

Comparing the numbers
In looking at the stats the numbers are slowing down.

Numbers as of March 11, 2021
Source

World
Confirmed: 118M
Recovered: 66.9M
Deaths: 2.62M

United States
Confirmed: 29.2M
Recovered:
Deaths: 529K

Arizona
Confirmed: 829K
Recovered:
Deaths: 16,404

Numbers as of April 13, 2021
Source

World
Confirmed: 137M
Recovered: 77.9M
Deaths: 2.95M

United States
Confirmed: 31.3M
Recovered:
Deaths: 562K

Arizona
Confirmed: 851K
Recovered:
Deaths: 17,105


COVID19 monthly updates
I have been doing a monthly recap and journal of what has happened in my life and the world in regards to COVID19.

At the beginning of the crisis I was so interested to know what was happening in other parts of the world and thought some might like to know about things here in Arizona.

On March 13, 2020 I posted Times of change and uncertainty. A couple of days after the World Health Organization announced that COVID-19 is officially a pandemic and Arizona Governor Doug Ducey declared a state of emergency.

On April 14, 2020 I posted Share My World: Thoughts on COVID19 about working from home, ASU moving to online instruction and some of the alerts and numbers of cases.

On May 14, 2020 I posted Monthly COVID19 update about wearing masks, social distancing and graduation online.

On June 19, 2020 I posted My life amid the Coronavirus about my second trip to Utah, a visit from Sara Quinney Jones, the killing of George Floyd and Black Lives Matter and how masks are now mandatory in Arizona.

On July 13, 2020 I posted COVID19 Monthly Journal about all the zoom meetings, question about ASU in the fall, how I was doing a lot of family history work and my new stylish face coverings.

On August 24, 2020 I posted Community of Care named after ASU's campaign response to COVID19, which also includes testing for all students and staff and daily check ins, my awesome friends that I am connecting with via Marco Polo, and a family trip to Glacier National Park in Montana.

On September 13, 2020 I posted COVID19 Update-- 6 months
on how nice it was to do somethings outside and still having to do a lot online.

On October 13, 2020 I posted COVID19 update--October 13, 2020 which was short and mentioned that I went to the park for a picnic and work is still online.

On November 14, 2020 I posted Conflict and Compassion It was a busy month with traveling to Tennessee and the US presidential election. I also had my first real conflict with someone regarding mask wearing.

On December 13, 2020 I posted Documenting COVID19 which was a short update.

On January 13, 2021 I posted COVID19 update- Eventful month about the people that I was able to see in person and the people I saw online (VR) at HiveFest, how ASU started the spring semester with mostly online classes, the storming of US Capital and the high tensions and political divide, and my sweet friend Ora's death.

On February 13, 2021 I posted 11 months about the things that ASU is doing with testing and check in and going to the theater with Calvin.

On March 13, 2021 I posted A year of COVID-19 updates recapping the posts I did concerning COIVD and its impact on my life.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency