COVID19 update- Eventful month

Hello Hive friends,

@trangbaby post today reminded me that is is time for my monthly COVID19 update post.

This past month has been very eventful. I went on a 2 week 2 day road trip with my brother, had a birthday, ASU started, and the media reported on a storming of the US capitol.

On December 12th I flew to Utah and met my brother for a great road trip that took us to Utah, Idaho, Wyoming, Oregon and a very short drive through California.

For this post I used cell phone pictures.

Idaho


While in Idaho I went to HiveFest. Very cool! For more see HIVE Fest 2020

Oregon coast


I got see some dear friends and spend time with family.

I celebrated my birthday (Jan 5th) by going to dinner with great great friends.

On January 6, 2021 when proceedings were to happen to confirm Joe Biden as president there was an event at the capitol with protestors. I don't want to get into too much of the politics of it I can see that it was an event that effected a lot of people and polarized people even more. I think that politics are becoming increasingly polarized and now that the pandemic is on the 9th month people are acting out even more.

On Monday Jan. 11, 2021 ASU's spring semester started. Classes are mostly online. There are in synch options where some of the students are going to class and some are doing the class on line. I got COVID tested again before school started and we are taking lots of safety precautions to keep people at this very large university safe.

Comparing the numbers

I had heard people talking about high the number in Arizona have been lately. In looking at the confirmed cases in Arizona it went from 390K in December to 630K in January. That is a lot.

My sweet friend Ora died at the end of December. She was 80+ years on hospice for cancer and each time I would visit she would say she wanted to die and be with her husband who had been gone for 3 years and many of her sisters that she missed and loved so much. Right before I went on my road trip I stopped by to see her. We sat on the front porch and talked as her grandson who was living with her had got COVID. She might be one of the deaths in the stats below. She was going to die very soon with or without COVID.

Pictures of sweet peas that reminds me of Ora. She had them in her front yard!

Numbers as of January 13, 2021
Source

World
Confirmed: 91.8M
Recovered: 50.8M
Deaths: 1.97M

United States
Confirmed: 22.9M
Recovered:
Deaths:381K

Arizona
Confirmed: 639K
Recovered:
Deaths: 10,537

Numbers as of December 11, 2020
Source

World
Confirmed: 69.8M
Recovered: 45M
Deaths: 1.59M

United States
Confirmed: 15.7
Recovered:
Deaths: 293K

Arizona
Confirmed: 390K
Recovered:
Deaths: 7,173


I do hope that soon I will get to stop doing these COVID19 updates!

At the beginning of the crisis I was so interested to know what was happening in other parts of the world and thought some might like to know about things here in Arizona.

On March 13, 2020 I posted Times of change and uncertainty. A couple of days after the World Health Organization announced that COVID-19 is officially a pandemic and Arizona Governor Doug Ducey declared a state of emergency.

On April 14, 2020 I posted Share My World: Thoughts on COVID19 about working from home, ASU moving to online instruction and some of the alerts and numbers of cases.

On May 14, 2020 I posted Monthly COVID19 update about wearing masks, social distancing and graduation online.

On June 19, 2020 I posted My life amid the Coronavirus about my second trip to Utah, a visit from Sara Quinney Jones, the killing of George Floyd and Black Lives Matter and how masks are now mandatory in Arizona.

On July 13, 2020 I posted COVID19 Monthly Journal about all the zoom meetings, question about ASU in the fall, how I was doing a lot of family history work and my new stylish face coverings.

On August 24, 2020 I posted Community of Care named after ASU's campaign response to COVID19, which also includes testing for all students and staff and daily check ins, my awesome friends that I am connecting with via Marco Polo, and a family trip to Glacier National Park in Montana.

On September 13, 2020 I posted COVID19 Update-- 6 months
on how nice it was to do somethings outside and still having to do a lot online.

On October 13, 2020 I posted COVID19 update--October 13, 2020 which was short and mentioned that I went to the park for a picnic and work is still online.

On November 14, 2020 I posted Conflict and Compassion It was a busy month with traveling to Tennessee and the US presidential election. I also had my first real conflict with someone regarding mask wearing.

On December 13, 2020 I posted Documenting COVID19 which was a short update.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency