So that was Covid. A few curveballs:

image.png

  1. Dr. called me and told me I had it. I said, yeah, I know. A few days later a nurse called me and said, you don't have it. I raised my eyebrow. Then a couple days after that, Dr. called again, and said, "They read it wrong. You got it." I said, yeah, I know.
  2. Some company was advertising a thermometer, because a high temperature is the one sure sign of Covid. I didn't have that. Barely budged.
  3. Early reports were all about coughs . . . I hate that late-cold cough, when you almost swallow your tongue, more than almost anything. I had no cough. Well, maybe coughed six times in a week.
  4. Lose taste? Nope, except that I came to dislike fruit, which I normally love. I took two bites out of one of our plums and found it disgusting. Didn't even try our pears, which we had been eating regularly, and avoided the tons of tomatoes on the vine in the front yard. Only the Concords were at all attractive.
  5. Mainly I just felt tired. That's a classic symptom. Got NO work done the past week. Am starting to think about work again.
  6. Also a bit as if a Nazgul had breathed a glancing breath upon me. Weary, stale, and unprofitable felt the uses of this world. But that's too literary: divide by two or three.
  7. I've never had an illness that was so steady. It had no phases. It had no drama. What it was in the beginning, it remained throughout. It didn't feel like a cold or flu at all.

The worst was actually the sore back, the first couple days I don't know if that was from Covid itself, or from lying in bed for so long. But to deal with it, I walked two miles or so every day, keeping my distance from other pedestrians.

No doubt the vaccines "did their job." I seem to be pretty much OK now, thank God.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency