Quarantine Diaries: Day 224

C8D42EA322D24BD782985394B87B0F8C.jpeg

source: NYT

Minnesota’s government is sending some mixed messages. At the same time that there’s a statewide requirement to wear masks inside of businesses, I get this message on the outside of an envelope sent to me to get me to renew my car’s license tabs:

508A7D9BF0F044F2B2423760FDAFBF15.jpeg

Inside the envelope, along with the form to renew my tabs, no further info about how I might be able to save lives by showing up to a crowded government office and potentially exposing myself to one or more people infected with the virus that causes COVID-19, or potentially exposing them to me if I’ve got an asymptomatic but transmissible case of my own. I’m left to guess how that would save lives. Perhaps I could rummage around and find a form to sign up as an organ donor, but I already signed up for that years ago, says so right on my driver’s license.

Meh, I’ll pass. At the risk of not saving lives, I’ll stay home and sell off some Blurt, buy some LEO, and at least think about powering up some Hive even though it’s not #hpud yet.

Coronavirus News, Analysis, Opinion. And Other Stuff:

Ireland Reimposes National Lockdown

The new measures, announced on Monday, are a dramatic U-turn for the government, which just two weeks ago fell short of imposing the highest level of restrictions despite advice from public health experts.

Rural Infections Run Out of Control

Nearly 70% of the nation’s 1,976 rural (nonmetropolitan) counties are now in the red zone, a term used by the White House Coronavirus Task Force to designate localities where the spread of the virus is out of control.

Wisconsin reimposes coronavirus restrictions amid surge in hospitalizations

This comes as a state judge recently blocked the order.

A week after Covid-19 vaccine trial goes on pause, Johnson & Johnson and FDA won't reveal critical details

Studies Point To Big Drop In COVID-19 Death Rates

The study, which was of a single health system, finds that mortality has dropped among hospitalized patients by 18 percentage points since the pandemic began. Patients in the study had a 25.6% chance of dying at the start of the pandemic; they now have a 7.6% chance…
The death rate "is still higher than many infectious diseases, including the flu," Horwitz says. And those who recover can suffer complications for months or even longer. "It still has the potential to be very harmful in terms of long-term consequences for many people."

'I'm Still Unemployed': Millions In Dire Situation As Savings Start To Run Out

One-third of Americans believe the coronavirus was sent by God.

They can't find the parents of 545 migrant children separated by Trump administration

S.D. House Speaker battles COVID-19: 'It's been the most devastating stuff I've ever had'

Exxon Says Trump Shakedown Never Happened

Said Trump: “I call some guy, the head of Exxon. I call the head of Exxon. I don’t know. How are you doing? How’s energy coming? When are you doing the exploration? Oh, you need a couple of permits? When I call the head of Exxon I say, ‘You know, I’d love for you to send me $25 million for the campaign.’ ‘Absolutely sir.’”

The "Titanic" Analogy You Haven't Heard: Passively Accepting Oblivion

How long can you survive without water?

BF94AEF6EE1F4649A8CCC739E7C43C7A.jpeg

BA732FFB39EA460E871A5F7EE2773E11.png
Badge thanks to @arcange

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency