Making A first Impression On Your Blog With Photography - Do It The Right Way

As the saying goes, You never get a second chance to make a first impression. And nowhere is that saying more true than that on Steemit!

You all want to have the most eye catching imagery (eyecandy) to attract attention to our wonderful posts. But where do you get the imagery? Is it yours? Is it from a free stock site like Pixabay? Is it simply copied from somewhere on the web?

This is my eyecandy for you today! Did it work? I even cropped the image to make sure the thumbnail would emphasize the golden nest egg! I too am learning about how important a first impression is!
0900410-9794.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
My stock image can be found on Getty Images

I have been covering the subject of image usage since I first joined Steemit about 5 weeks ago no. In case you missed them, you can read my past posts by clicking on the links below. I encourage all newbies to read them. It may help you to avoid future headaches and possible legal trouble. I encourage the dolphins and whales to read them too. After all, you are the ones setting an example for new people to follow.

I have no intentions of making life difficult for anyone. Most people have no idea that what they are doing is wrong and can lead to legal trouble. Others – well, they just don't care! In any case, I believe that education is key to having a successful Steemit. Remember, if you or Steemit get into trouble over your stolen image, by accident or otherwisethe whole community will suffer.

Here is a great resource to keep on hand for both photographers and users of photography: Stockphotorights Please be sure to read the Q&As.They are very helpful. Pay particular attention to the last 3, though. You will see that even a Facebook Business Page is considered a commercial usage of imagery. Steemit is for-profit, so the usage on here would be considered commercial, so any infringement is more likely to be followed up by agencies and individuals!

Disclaimer – I am a photographer and not a lawyer. Consult your copyright attorney if you have questions.

How To Avoid Copyright Violation And Image Plagiarism – How To Effectively Use Google Images

Hey Steemit – Royalty Free Images Are Not Free Images

Stock Photography – Do I Have The Right To Use It?

Copyright – What does It Have To Do With You?

Free Photography On The Web – Where To Find It

Steemit – My Key To Long-Term Success – 3 Must-Know Tips From A Newbie

Is The Bible Copyright? - Some Versions Are, But Some Are Not

Copyright Violation – Why It Is Morally Wrong

I encourage you also to read this post by @timcliff from a few months ago: Steemit News: DMCA Claim for Copyright Infringement

(I am adding this paragraph as an edit because ironically I just learned the hard way that the quote at the beginning is truer than I thought, thanks to the blockchain! I made a typo in the title to my post, and noticed it the moment I posted it. No problem! I edited it and all is well - except for the link name! When reposting the link, my typo shows up for all the world to see! Lesson learned - The title is as much the first impression, so inspect it very carefully before hitting the POST button!)

Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it.

Resteems and Upvotes are very much appreciated, and they are helping me sto ave for a trip to Tahiti, which my husband and I hope to make for our 25th wedding anniversary in 2019!

To find my photography and designs on Steemit, please search on #dianemacphoto and to check out my art prints and stock images, please visit my website.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency