Spanish Rice - Lori's Cookbook

Last time, I took you through the basic steps of making Turmeric Rice. This time, I'm going to use that turmeric rice to make Spanish Rice. (Or Spanish-inspired Rice... I don't have the original recipe anymore.) - I also can't guarantee that this is made in Spain... or even remotely resembles anything made in Spain!
All I know is that this is based on a recipe my mother made - called Spanish Rice - and the way I make it.

IMGP1553.JPG

Over medium heat, brown the ground beef. I'm using about two pounds of it.

IMGP1559.JPG

When the meat is nearly browned, stir in:

  • 1/2 to 1 Tablespoon: of each paprika, onion flakes, garlic granules (per pound of meat)
    Obviously, taste would be best if you can use these things fresh, but I don't really get along with chopping (or even storing) these things, so dried ingredients works best for me.

IMGP1560.JPG

When the meat is completely browned, stir in (to taste):

  • Tomato sauce, picante sauce and/or salsa verde
    I used a can of the tomato sauce, then just eyeballed the others. My finicky children don't like too much heat.

Stir well and heat through.

IMGP1565.JPG

IMGP1568.JPG

Mix it somewhat equally with your recipe of turmeric rice. (i.e. 1 lb meat to 1 c rice)... more/less to your personal preferences.

Add whatever other seasonings you might want.

IMGP1571.JPG

I've served it up with salad and pickles. Either thing is very good for your digestion, especially if you can use the old-fashioned lacto-fermented pickles rather than the vinegary ones that we tend to have these days.

IMGP1572.JPG

Here is my "recipe card" - feel free to print these out and use it in your own cookbook.

process_1.jpg

process_2.jpg

kitchen_witch_1.JPG
This is one of my kitchen witches. One hung in my grandmother's kitchen as long as I can remember, so I have one too... actually I have several. My grandmother's now lives in my mother's kitchen.

Previous recipes in Lori's Cookbook

Breakfasts
Basic French Toast

Easy Suppers
Simple Cheeseburgers

Side Dishes
Turmeric Rice

Note: All photos mine - taken with my Pentax K30.
Crossposted at Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace

Discord Link

banner.jpg

Join us in the Official Whaleshares server in the text channel "the-phoenix-project"

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency