Peach Cornmeal Cobbler - Lori's Cookbook

Here's something I made for the first time a few weeks ago.
This one surprised me in several areas, but it turned out very good. I'll definitely be making this again!
The recipe has been altered significantly from the original Blackberry Cornmeal Cobbler.

Here is what it looked like.
serving.JPG

Preparation

  • The first thing I did was preheat the oven to 400F.
  • Then, I buttered my dish.

butter_dish.JPG

The original recipe did not state the size of baking dish required, so I opted for this 1970s Corelle casserole dish. (Next time, I'll probably double the recipe.)

  • I mixed together the dry ingredients:

dry_ingredients.JPG

That's...
1/3 cup masa harina
1/3 cup whole wheat flour
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon sea salt

  • I stirred in the wet ingredients

wet_ingredients.JPG

That's...
2/3 cup buttermilk
1/3 cup maple syrup
2 teaspoons vanilla

  • Mix together.

mix.JPG

  • Pour into buttered dish.
  • Top with 2 cups sliced peaches (This felt like a leap-of-faith step - I really didn't think it was going to turn out well!)
  • Sprinkle with cinnamon - sugar to taste

fruit_to_top.JPG

  • Bake at 400F for 45 minutes

serving.JPG

Serve with heavy cream, whipped cream, or ice cream.

The final was a chewier result than what you might expect from a more biscuit-like cobbler.

Recipe Cards

Here are your recipe cards - print it out if you like!

peach_cornmeal_cobbler_1.jpg
peach_cornmeal_cobbler_2.jpg
kitchen_witch_1.JPG
This is one of my kitchen witches. One hung in my grandmother's kitchen as long as I can remember, so I have one too... actually I have several. My grandmother's now lives in my mother's kitchen.

Previous recipes in Lori's Cookbook

Breakfasts

Basic French Toast

Easy Suppers

Simple Cheeseburgers
Spanish Rice

Side Dishes

Turmeric Rice

Note: All photos are mine - Pentax K30.
Crossposted at Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace

Discord Link

banner.jpg

Join us in the Official Whaleshares server in the text channel "the-phoenix-project"

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency