Italian Meatballs - Lori's Cookbook

This is my "step two" in making spaghetti and meatballs.

Making meatballs

Preheat the oven to 425F or 220 C.

Firstly, measure your meat. My bowl here was about 1.5 lbs, so I had to adjust. I have about 4 pounds of ground beef here - it doesn't have to be exact though.

IMGP1632.JPG

IMGP1633.JPG

To the ground beef, add:

  • 3-4 eggs (or 1 egg per pound or meat)
  • 1/4 cup onion flakes (or 1 Tablespoon per pound)
  • 2 Tablespoons garlic granules (or 1/2 Tablespoon per pound)
  • 2 Tablespoons parsley (or 1/2 Tablespoon per pound)
  • 1-2 Tablespoons sea salt (or 1/4 - 1/2 Tablespoon per pound)
  • some ground pepper, optional.

Next, wash your hands and get ready to get really messy because the best way to mix all this up is with your hands! Mix it until the eggs and seasoning are really well mixed into the meat.

IMGP1641.JPG

IMGP1650.JPG

Once mixed, form into uniform balls. For these, I use about a palm-sized piece of meat and roll it into a ball.

The balls get place into a pyrex pan. Close together is fine, they will shrink slightly from melting fat.

Place in oven and bake about 15 minutes (longer if you don't plan on heating them a second time as I am.)

IMGP1656.JPG

Now, my meatballs are ready for mixing with the sauce for spaghetti and/or canning for future meals of spaghetti.

Here is your recipe card for printing out.

italian_meatballs.jpg


kitchenwitches_1_2.jpg
Two of my kitchen witches. One hung in my grandmother's kitchen as long as I can remember, so I have mine - adding a certain magickal spice to my cooking, presumably...
My grandmother's now lives in my mother's kitchen.

Previous recipes in Lori's Cookbook

(Links are for Steem... For Whaleshares and WeKu, simply place whaleshares.io or main.weku.io where the steempeak.com is.)

Breakfasts

Basic French Toast

Easy Suppers

Simple Cheeseburgers
Spanish Rice

Side Dishes

Turmeric Rice

Sauces

Spaghetti Sauce

Desserts

Peach Cornmeal Cobbler

Note: All photos are mine - Pentax K30.
Crossposted at Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace

Discord Link

banner.jpg

Join us in the Official Whaleshares server in the text channel "the-phoenix-project"

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency