Easy Turmeric Rice - Lori's Cookbook

I was taught how to cook rice by my mother. It's pretty simple as long as you don't over-complicate things.

When I lived in England, I heard about how much difficulty housewives had in the 50s when rice first became a trendy part of their diet. (It still isn't a huge part of typical British cuisine.) Well, having not been taught how to cook rice, they'd put the rice in a pot with water and stir it... It doesn't work that way! So, these poor British housewives were constantly burning their rice, not understanding how to cook it correctly.

Well, I will show you how to cook rice - not just rice, but very healthy turmeric rice. Turmeric, of course, is hugely popular right now as a way of naturally balancing blood sugar, so it's perfect for diabetics (though the rice itself should be eaten sparingly by such people.)

Easy Turmeric Rice

I started off with my rice. I used 2 cups so that I can have some tomorrow too...
IMGP1554.JPG

I added 5 cups of bone broth (so, 2 1/2 cups per cup of rice.)

  • Note: You can just use water, but broth adds many more nutrients as well as heaps of flavor. You could also use a couple of bouillon cubes if you prefer. If you are using just water, also add maybe a teaspoon of salt to it for flavor.

IMGP1555.JPG

I added the turmeric, about a tablespoon in all (so, 1/2 tablespoon or 1 1/2 teaspoons per cup of rice.)

  • Note: You could add other herbs or seasonings instead if you wish. I make mine pretty plain because I have finicky children.

IMGP1556.JPG

Cover the pot and turn on the burner to high.
(I'm currently missing one of my lids, but this is to your advantage as this one is a clear lid!)

IMGP1557.JPG

Once the rice and broth reach the boil, turn it down to medium-low - high enough to keep it at a simmer.

(Be quick! It boils over quite fast - and with the turmeric, that means you have to clean it up promptly to keep staining to a minimum.)

Simmer for about 15 minutes until the moisture is absorbed by the rice.
DO NOT STIR!!! Don't even lift the lid if you can help it.

IMGP1558.JPG

After the 15 minutes, this is what it looks like. This pot is still slightly underdone, so I left it a couple more minutes. It should be "al dente" - just like pasta.

IMGP1564.JPG

To serve, I stir in 1 stick of butter (about 125g if you're using metric). Obviously, use the butter to taste, but grains are better digested if they are consumed with a fat. I choose animal fats on purpose.

IMGP1570.JPG

On this day, I went on to serve this turmeric as part of Spanish Rice - maybe I'll get to these pictures before my trip, or maybe not... We'll see.

Instruction Card

These images are done in a nice (US) printer size, so feel free to print them out for your own use. I've tried to keep this as simple as possible. If you're on a computer, right click the image and choose "open in new tab" - then save/print as normal.

process_1_1600.jpg

process_2_1600.jpg


kitchen_witch_1.JPG
This is one of my kitchen witches. One hung in my grandmother's kitchen as long as I can remember, so I have one too... actually I have several. My grandmother's now lives in my mother's kitchen.

Previous recipes in Lori's Cookbook

Breakfasts
Basic French Toast

Easy Suppers
Simple Cheeseburgers

Crossposted at Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace

Discord Link

banner.jpg

Join us in the Official Whaleshares server in the text channel "the-phoenix-project"

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency