Battered & Deep-Fried Prawns & Zukes - Lori's Cookbook

This is my entry for this week's @foodfightfriday challenge.

I have long forgotten who posted the original recipe here on Steem. But I took it and twisted it a little and was really impressed with the result! (Now, I just need to find a good grain-free version.)

Pâte à beignets

(pour aubergine, courgette, poisson, etc.)

  • 110 g de farine (flour)
  • 10 cl de lait (milk)
  • 1 oeuf (egg)
  • 1 cuillère à soupe d'huile d'olive (olive oil)
  • 1 sel, poivre, herbes de Provence (salt, pepper, Herbs of Provence)

Thankfully, I can mostly read French, so I wrote it down as is and proceeded to make it my own. The main change I made was to add a second egg as I found the batter too thick without it.

I happened to have some courgettes (little squashes - or zucchini) on hand at the time, plus some shrimp I was wanting to fry up. I even did some chips/fries.

Here's my result:
IMGP3614.JPG

Method

First, make the batter:
(I did a double recipe - one recipe seems to be good for about 3 courgettes or 1-2 lbs of fish/shrimp... I wanted to do both, so I doubled it.)

In a bowl, mix together:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 100 ml milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper (I might have omitted this - can't remember for sure now.)
  • 1 teaspoon Herbes de Provence

IMGP3601_text.JPG

IMGP3604.JPG

Let the batter rest as you prepare the things to fry.

I had to shell the shrimp, slice the zucchini, preheat the lard and do the first fry of the chips (the best way to deep-fry french fries is to do them once, let them cool and do them a second time - this is what all the fast food places do.)

2 lbs of prawns

IMGP3599.JPG

IMGP3600.JPG

A zucchini and a yellow summer squash - they both work identically and taste almost the same.

The chips after the first fry.

IMGP3608.JPG

IMGP3606.JPG

The zucchini slices and the prawns get the same treatment. Dip into the batter to coat, then add in batches to the frying oil

(Note: this cast iron skillet is not big enough for this job! It did the job semi-safely until I could find a wok to take over the job, but please have a deeper pan for this job!)

IMGP3609.JPG

When they are browned beneath (about 5 minutes, perhaps), turn them carefully and brown the other side.

Here's the first batch, slightly underdone.

IMGP3612.JPG

Continue with the zucchini slices, the prawns and finally return the chips to the hot fat. (Again, I didn't wait quite long enough with them, partly because I was struggling with the shallow pan.)

Here is the final result. Although there were leftovers, nothing went to waste - which, in my book, is a rip-roaring success!

IMGP3614.JPG

This will be made again from time to time despite my mission to keep grains out of my diet.

Here is my...

Recipe Card

Feel free to print it out.

prawns_zukes_1.jpg

kitchenwitches_1_2.jpg
Two of my kitchen witches. One hung in my grandmother's kitchen as long as I can remember, so I have mine - adding a certain magickal spice to my cooking, presumably...
My grandmother's now lives in my mother's kitchen.

Previous recipes in Lori's Cookbook

(Links are for Steem... For Whaleshares and WeKu, simply place whaleshares.io or main.weku.io where the steempeak.com is.)

Holidays (Christmas, Thanksgiving, etc.)

Cranana-Chumpkin Bread
Cranberry-Berry Sauce (canning too)
Cranberry Juice Drink

Breakfasts

Basic French Toast
Buttermilk Pancakes - including low-carb and grain-free options.

Easy Suppers

Dirty Mac & Cheese
Simple Cheeseburgers
Spanish Rice
Italian Meatballs
Spaghetti and Meatballs

Main Courses

Fathead Stromboli
Garlic Curry Baked Drumsticks

Drinks

Cranberry Juice Drink

Side Dishes

Turmeric Rice
Garlic-Herb Bread

Breads

Cranana-Chumpkin Bread
No-Knead Bread
Fathead Dough - a grain free substitute for many bread situations!

Snacks

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Sauces

Spaghetti Sauce
Basic Salsa
Garlic-Herb Butter

Desserts

Peach Cornmeal Cobbler
Tapioca Pudding

DIY Ingredients

Buttermilk

Canning

Rebel Canning - a general guide about what I do, and why I don't always follow USDA guidelines.
Cranberry-Berry Sauce
Cranberry Juice Drink
Meatballs and Spaghetti Sauce

Note: All photos are mine - Pentax K30, Samsung NX11, Kodak Z981 (hubby's camera), Nikon 7200.
Crossposted at Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu

Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency