PC upgrade update and other stuff; lower activity for 2 weeks

Well, I can finally feel like I've become a little more professional with my LP channel... I seem to be improving a bit with Isaac, especially as over the last few days, I've unlocked about 10 new achievements! Additionally, I've started making better use of the End Screen on a YouTube video, which also makes things a little more consistent and accessible. I've also been starting my backup/transfer process for moving my PC to a new case, and having fresh installs as well, seeing as the major things I need to really do is make sure I can more easily access files/folders on my current main drive, as well as making sure passwords and/or recovery keys/phrases are in a safe place too so I can move stuff over relatively easy, and continue where I left off.

I also want to configure and deploy Stratus (my "admin" mini PC) so I'm able to more efficiently do my content creation stuff, which probably means that I need to consider NAS deployment in the future, as I can just export the videos I record to the drive, and then Stratus can pick them up from there and upload stuff! I have also managed to make things a bit faster as well regarding tagging in YouTube and WordPress, as I've learnt how to properly use commas in that section. Yes, I'm quite sure someone knew this already, but for me, it's a revelation, and also saves me a lot more time in the process, especially for bulk uploads.

On that note, coincidentally, I have 4 videos all uploaded and ready to be published at their respective times, from midnight tomorrow (Wednesday) to midnight Wednesday next week, which frees me up to do the PC case move, upgrades and reinstalls, because I think with all the preparation I need to sort through, it'll take me around a week to get properly redeployed! this also means that for a period of a few days up to a week, I'll be less active on social media, disregarding the automated posts, although I will also be still somewhat active on Twitter. In any case, I'm hoping that the replacement CPU and network card - as well as clearing off the dust - will make my rig run at least a little better, and hopefully, it'll mean I have more access to games in the process.

One more thing I've been considering doing is using 16GB of the RAM meant for my newer same gen build, bringing it up to 32GB, as I've now decided I'm better off building new. Granted, there is the issue of the GPU shortage, but that at least means I can pace myself with getting parts, as well as having the time to make some space to film things in my living room! Coincidentally, when my current rig is put into its new case, it'll be called 'Raiden', whereas the new build will be called 'Thor', as it makes sense to name them on the network now, given that I'm trying to give a more professional and organised setup. You might have noticed a theme with those names, and if you have, then I'll be naming my desktop and "main" PCs that way in the future, though I expect names to get recycled in the future, as in "Thor II", "Raiden IV", etc.

In any case, the entire setup will take a while to fully deploy, so I expect to see the setup being used incrementally, mainly with Raiden and Stratus being used, and eventually, Cloudburst (my first mini PC) being deployed for certain tasks that don't need a strong CPU; I'm also going to take out the 16GB SODIMM I bought initially for it and put it either in my Dell laptop, or a gaming laptop I want to buy, seeing as I'm at the point where I need to have something that I can use to do streaming, Let's Plays, videos, etc. when I'm travelling (especially when I'm in Ireland), seeing as I'd literally have to stop operations for 2 weeks whenever I went to Ireland, as whilst my Dell laptop is useful to have with me, it's not good enough to do much beyond admin work, coding, and some light gaming!

Either way, I definitely can't wait to get the new hardware deployed, as well as starting to use Stratus (after some configuration), seeing as it would likely make my workflow better than it is now, and it means I won't be affected by main PC getting slowed down, which is pretty big in itself! I also have a HDMI capture device, which will allow me to record the inputs from my HDMI switcher, which will be handy if I want to record footage from certain devices that are small enough to work with my desktop setup, as I could pipe the feed through OBS for the purposes of recording or streaming, though that still needs to be planned out, as it does add more wires!

In any case, I do have a lot to be getting on with, so I may end up recording a couple more IsaacStorm videos to carry me through after Wednesday next week, so whilst the PC move is on my mind, it'll be happening after I feel like my important information is saved, or made accessible from the main drive, before it gets formatted and used in my Dell laptop, although I may also buy an SSHD for Stratus, given the max 2.5in drive it can take is 2TB, and I'm sure the slight speed boost will be useful, especially with the boot drive being on an m.2 SSD! I'm not sure about the storage for Cloudburst or Nimbus yet, but that's a thing I can think about later.

Either way, I need to start planning stuff out, so I'm going to call it here. I'll be available on Twitter throughout the duration of the process, and may pop up elsewhere using my mobile or tablet so I'm not going into complete radio silence; I will however likely be less active than usual, as I need to focus my energy into finally getting this PC upgrade done! I'll provide updates when I'm able to, and hopefully, the next update will be me getting settled back into things, though I suspect that a total of 2 weeks will be pretty accurate in terms of me getting fully settled in, though I will be installing Isaac, Dungeon Hack, and Project Zomboid as a priority, as well as OBS, but I need to sort through my settings there too.

But yeah, that's the current state of things... I'm going to try to spend a couple more days getting things ready before I finally move stuff over, and hopefully it'll be relatively smooth sailing!

See you all later on.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency