Coffee And Surprise Flowers.....

Hi ! Happy Wednesday !

It is pretty happy to me because I took the day off. Who takes days off in the middle of the week? Me ! It helps break up the drudgery of work. These days, when I see my schedule and see I have a week with too many heavy stress days scheduled back to back, I take a day off mid-week to break it up and try to save my sanity... well... .what I have left of THAT !

🤣

I was checking emails and reading some Hive posts and was reading about how @galenkp loves coffee again... ha ha... hey, everyone has to have some sort of "drug of choice" don't they ?? Mine is sugar, so I can't throw stones, because that is MUCH worse. Anyway, while reading that post, I remembered I had put the coffee together last night, so I stopped for a second and said "Alexa, turn on coffee" and she did. That was a little while ago and I now have a cup of coffee beside me as I type.

It took me a few minutes to get that cup of coffee, because before it was done I received an email from one of my sister's with a photo of some pretty cut flowers she had left on a bench on my back porch. She didn't know I was off today, so she pictured me working away back here and didn't interrupt me. I included a few photos below of the flowers.

When I was growing up, both of my parents drank coffee every morning. I always woke up to that lovely smell of perked coffee. They didn't let us drink it because of the caffeine, which I believe was very responsible of them, but on about two occasions, a sip or two was shared with me. YUCK ! BITTER !.... or that was my first impression as a child and I wondered how something that smelled so good, could taste so bad !

😜

After I grew up, I never drank it except for a very rare winter occasion when I was at some outside event and was very cold. I accepted a cup or two at those times, simple to hold something warm in my hands. That didn't make me like the flavor though.

coffee pot.jpg

Around the time I was 40'ish there were so many coffee houses springing up all over and they had the flavored coffees. I was out on my own again and working in a downtown building that had a coffee shop directly across the corner from it. I learned I liked the vanilla coffee at that time and slowly got where I went there about once a week. It didn't hurt that the owner baked fresh muffins daily and she had some really awesome recipes. There was an applesauce muffin that was the most moist muffin I had ever eaten and the flavor was more wonderful than I could ever describe. She had multiple flavors and not the same ones every day and I never tasted any that weren't devine. Honorable mention to her Sweet Potato muffin too... anyway.... this isn't supposed to be about muffins !

So I got use to drinking coffee a little more and as coffee is known to do, it eventually drew me in to desiring more and more. I didn't make it at home at the time though. Fast forward a few years and I moved to Texas for a mid-life adventure. I stayed with the same company there, which made it easier to go, since finding a new job wasn't part of the transition. That location ran 24/7, so the company provided a nice coffee maker in the break room and coffee to go in it. When one pot ran out, whoever used the last of it, put on another pot. That is where I got to where I drank coffee nearly every morning, I mean, it was free, so why not?

The rest is history as they say and I have the above drip coffee maker at home. I don't make coffee every single day, but most days. Before covid, I also had the occasional visit with friends or family at a nice coffee cafe, but have done none of that for over two years now. About three times though, I was across town for some other reason and would go through a Starbucks drive-thru and grab a White Chocolate Mocha or Flat White with an extra shot of expresso.... and I enjoyed every last drop.

These drip pots make decent coffee if you find a brand of coffee you like. I won't pretend it is as good as old timey perked, but it is acceptably good. Although I use the same pot every time and know how much grounds should be added, I still make a bad pot once in a while, too strong or too weak. If it is too strong, I will drink it anyway, if it is too weak, I pour it out and start over.... nope... I can only be pushed so far and weak coffee is past my limit... ha ha So when I read the coffee post and realized if I said all this in a comment it would be like writing a book there, I just decided to come add the coffee thoughts to a post, along with my surprise flowers.

Oh... and yes, I am using a Christmas mug this morning. My Granny gave me this mug years ago. It is not the first one I reach for these days, but my two favs were waiting to be washed, so this morning.... Christmas mug it is !

granny cup.jpg

Before my coffee maker had finished dripping a pot, I saw the email from my sister. I went out to the porch where her photo had shown that she left it, to get it in before it sat in the heat of the day too long. When I emailed her back to thank her, I told her that her sending a photo of the deliver was just like Amazon does when they deliver !

flowers on bench.jpg

I brought them in and snapped a few photos. I have not transferred them too a good vase yet, but I will after I finish this post.

20220518_101432.jpg

Such a sweet, colorful variety of fresh cut flowers.

20220518_101449.jpg

All the better though, because they are from a local flower farm.

20220518_101557.jpg

For any of you that have been around here from last year, these are from the same farm, Blooms On The Ridge" that I chose to get deliveries from last year. I didn't choose to take a subscription this year, I chose to spend money on art instead, but I still planned to pick up a bouquet now and then through the summer.

All the better though if someone gives you some ??.... You bet !

20220518_101508.jpg

The bouquet included this weird little flower that I believe I have never seen. I am wondering if it is a flowering herb. It has these asparagus type "leaves" that seem to also come out from under the pistil and has some alien green squigglies rising out of the very center. I'll be curious to find out what it is. If you know, you can tell me in your comment.

20220518_104727.jpg

It is about a quarter till noon now. The day is ahead of me and I don't have a plan with the exception of loading the dishwasher next and getting my new flowers in a vase, and taking a shower, all while getting more coffee here and there until it is gone.

Hope wherever you are and whatever you are doing, you have a happy day.

Love you ! Mean it !

Jacey

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency