A community question - Need your help

Copy of Change (1).png

“It is good to love many things, for therein lies the true strength, and whosoever loves much performs much, and can accomplish much, and what is done in love is well done.”

Vincent Van Gogh


I'm not an active person on social media; I use Hive and shun the rest; I'm not that interesting - Sure, I do a few cool things, have travelled extensively, have perspectives on life, love, self-improvement and other such things, can be funny, a bit of a knucklehead and generally good value, but I hardly see that as different to anyone else or in the least bit interesting - Certainly not enough for others to take note on social media.

I enjoy Hive though and have done so for the 1545 days I have been here, up to and including this very one. It's been good to me and I've met some really cool people.

I've always felt it's advantageous to act in a certain manner here, to present myself in a way that shows I'm open to engagement, happy to interact, friendly and approachable. I think that's worked so far as a few choose to engage with me here and there. I guess I feel that a little community-minded action is what's required here and I've tried to lead by example personally and through the support of individuals, concepts initiatives and the community in general. I'm only a little fish, but small things done often can add up right?

Community support

As part of my community-mindedness I've been running a few little concepts myself including the #weekend-engagement topic, this week's you can find here - week 65 and I have a couple of my own communities as well being The Pew: Guns & more , THE WEEKEND and Lego Community all of which I created just to drop my own posts in now and then, but which I opened to all of course.

Lately I've also been supporting small communities (and individuals) through prize donations and a posting contest concept with the first two being:

Shadows and reflections contest - For the Shadow Hunters Community

and the

Grandparent stories contest - For the Silver bloggers community

These were both reasonably successful contests that some of the Hive community seemed really keen to support - Thank you.

Next posting contest - 150 hive in prizes

On Tuesday 7th September I'll be releasing a new posting contest in conjunction with @edenmichelle so stay tuned for that one if you like...It'll be very easy and hopefully a lot of fun also.


I get a great deal of enjoyment from Hive, the writing I do for it is where that begins; however connecting people, bringing people together into the one time and place through a post or commenting, is also very rewarding and, I think, is very important for the fun factor and the ongoing health of our blockchain.

Fun is the key...We're not all professional writers, photographers, musical artists, intellectuals, sporting personalities or whatever...We're just a bunch of humans, all fallible, flawed and funnily enough, stuck on this planet...I figure we might as well enjoy the journey right? We might as well be a community, in the real world and on hive. So that's why I push that agenda in myself on Hive and in the Hive community in general.

I need your help - A question

With that in mind I'm asking for a favour...Something I'm not all that comfortable in doing to be honest as self-reliance is my preferred option. But I'm going to ask.

I'm looking for a couple of communities to promote and assist for my next couple of contests, after the one already set for this release this Tuesday. If you run one, or subscribe to one, that may be interested in having a community-specific contest run by me please let me know in the comments below - Hook me up with the owner of the community so that I can see how I may be able to help, or hit me up if you're the owner.


As someone who has been around for a while I feel it's my duty to have a community-minded ethos; this means support of the community through concepts and engagement, bringing people together and through attitude-adjusting plagiarists, bad actors, and those looking to tear down or take advantage of what others have worked hard to build. it's the responsibility of us all in truth, or should be.

I hope y'all might be able to throw a few ideas at me below in respect of my question above and I hope y'all have a great weekend.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
136 Comments
Ecency