Community leaders + users, I need your opinion on what you want ! (also some news on rc delegations)

image.png

Hello !

I have been silent for a bit and we skipped the last dev meeting because we didn't have a lot of points to cover, so I'm wrirting a small post to talk about what's going on with my work and to ask you some questions about the future

Direct rc delegations

The code has been finished and put in waiting for review about a month and a half ago, but the rest of the core team (led by @blocktrades) was fully focused on HAF so there was no bandwidth to perform a review, recently some of that bandwidth has been freed so I got a bunch of reviews, so far it's looking pretty good, I am still implementing some of the changes requested but I'll soon file it for a second review after I've done my changes.

You can follow along some of the discussions here: https://gitlab.syncad.com/hive/hive/-/merge_requests/245

communities 2.0 + recurrent transfers in hivemind

Meanwhile I've spent quite a bit of time looking into communities, there's a learning curve especially in terms of the implementation details (python vs pgsql)

Recurrent transfer support in hivemind

It's quite important to enable some version of paid communities where you are only a member if your recurrent transfer is up, it will also generate a clean api for dapps to integrate recurrent transfers with (search for user, you instantly get a list of their successful recurrent payments, if they failed etc along with the block number in case you want to double check against the hived apis)

Communities v2, what features do you want most

I have played around with a bunch of things and I'd like to ask you guys both community leaders and community users what kind of features you would like to see first, not all features are equally hard but it would still be interesting to know what I should prioritize. Please write why you want it (aka what you would do with it and how it would allow you to increase engagement/viewership etc)

If you are looking for inspiration, there are a lot of ideas in this post by @jarvie : @jarvie/history-of-blockchain-communities-and-what-is-next

I'm going to throw a small non-exhautive list here:

  • New communities type where members can only post and comment or where guests can only comment while members post
    • also make the community type selectable where you can move from one one type to another
  • Mandatory beneficiaries (if you don't post with the good beneficiaries, the post is automatically muted)
  • Community human names instad of ids (very hard)
  • Classification of post types
  • Community themes
  • Recurrent transfers memberships (if you have not paid, you are not a member)
  • more ways to sort communities
  • Membership request form (some form where members can ask to join and admins/mods can approve)
  • ?? You tell me :)
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
49 Comments
Ecency