First Batch of #Penciltember Sketches... the Inertia is Broken!


Here's the first post following up on my previous "Penciltember Declaration!" I may not hit the mark of creating a drawing and posting it every day, but I'm committed to cranking out a lot more work than has been my average lately!

As I mentioned in the previous post, I'll be centering all my artwork around producing concept art for a comic I am developing, entitled "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." If you've followed me a while or have scanned my blog archives you'll most likely be aware of it!

To ease me into the month I started with a few head sketches of the initial three primary characters. I'm fairly happy with how they turned out...


PencilTember_1_2017.jpg


ITIWBZ_Logo_Web01_350.png


I've based the characters on friends, but I'm not insane enough to believe I can draw a remarkable likeness of them time and time again on my comic pages. I'm beginning to try and push the designs to be a bit more stylized and animated. One artist I've been looking at a lot for inspiration lately is Marcio Takara.

I studied some of his sketches as a jumping off point for these headshots, but I'm happy that as I went along other influences crept in and pushed the drawing more toward what is currently at least, "my style." Since I'm also referencing my earlier drawings and designs rather than photo references of the actual people, it's adding an extra layer of abstraction and forcing me to be less photo realistic... which is good.


This page was done in the ProCreate app on an iPad Pro with Apple Pencil. ProCreate tracked it to be 2 hrs and 15 min of drawing time.


Thanks for taking a look and be ready for more as Penciltember continues! And if you get even the slightest urge, pick up a pencil yourself and enjoy! There's nothing like a good doodle!


-Bryan "the Imp" Imhoff


Follow me @bryan-imhoff and view some of my comics @spottyproduction and reviews @exploreunlimited!
Support the growing comics community here on Steemit by joining the @steem-comic-con!
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now